• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 ronrosa

ronrosa

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 228 posts

Posted 10 September 2006 - 12:57 PM

OK, I'm a total amateur hobbyist and most of my videos follow the typical vacation music video with shaky footage and non original music.

Anyway, after seeing the photographers doing black and white I decided to experiment a little.

I figured B&W would make things look more dramatic on a nice big wreck. Add in some Pink Floyd and here it is.

Fire away on the comments and critiques. :P

Right click and "save target as" to download.

B&W

#2 Nick Hope

Nick Hope

Sperm Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1975 posts

Posted 10 September 2006 - 11:08 PM

Well, that's one way of hiding white balance issues ;)

Actually Ron it's nice. I especially like the shot at around 1:25 with the light coming through and the dark corners vanishing into my media player's black background.

What would be really cool would be for the video to burst into colour and high-action at the 1:59 mark where Gilmour kicks in with the lead guitar. I might even nick that idea for myself :P

I remember the beautiful B&W sequence at the start of the Big Blue. It can really work well. Especially if followed by glorious technicolor.

#3 wagsy

wagsy

Blue Whale

• Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 10 September 2006 - 11:25 PM

Hey cool...great idea....no more WBing.....
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#4 NickJ

NickJ

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Interests:NATURAL HISTORY
    PHOTOGRAPHY & VIDEO
    SCUBA DIVING
    MOUNTAIN HIKING
    MUSIC
    COMPUTING

Posted 11 September 2006 - 12:18 AM