Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Canon 400D does fit the S&S 350D housing...


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 Nunomix

Nunomix

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 162 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Interests:Diving, Diving and more Diving. UW Photography.

Posted 24 November 2007 - 03:48 PM

Nuno

Thanks - page 101 in the manual - I would have got there in a week!
This I think is different to the 350D but then again I did the setting so long ago on that I do not rememeber. As I flooded it I cannot check!!

Useful website by the way - good pictures of the kit set up.

Looking forward to using this - Palau in March... seems a long way off

Thanks again :rolleyes:

Cheers

Paul


Glad I could help Paul. Have fun in Palau!!!

Cheers

Nuno
Nikon D300 / Nikon D700, Tokina 10-17 Fisheye, Nikon AF-S 14-24mm, Nikon 60mm, Nikon 105mm, Sea&Sea MDX-300, S&S TTL Converter, 2xS&S YS-110, S&S Glass Dome Port, S&S Compact Flat Port, S&S Extension Rings SX and 40 Fisheye Focus Light

http:/nunosanches.com/journal

#22 BurBunny

BurBunny

    Triggerfish

  • Industry
  • Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Location:Aurora, Colorado
  • Interests:Anything in, on or under water! Travel agent.

Posted 25 November 2007 - 10:29 PM

I have been trying the same thing - the buttons though are not the problem.

On closing the housing and taking a picture I do not get an image review - when I open the housing the the review appears.

Any thoughts would be welcome. I have to say I only have just taken the camera out of the box today...


Not sure about the 350D, but the 400D has a face "sensor" on the back just under the viewfinder. It's to automatically turn off the LCD when your face is at the viewfinder so as to not distract you or interfere. Have a feeling the 350 housing is blocking this sensor in some way, telling the camera to keep the LCD off.
-Amber

#23 patryn

patryn

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 28 November 2007 - 01:56 AM

I am thinking of buy housing for the Canon 400D and am looking for examples of photos with this camera.

Can anyone help me out?

I would shorely appreciate it.

best regards

#24 pakman

pakman

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1099 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong via Seattle...

Posted 28 November 2007 - 02:38 AM

http://www.flickr.co...57602605897168/

the 2007 albums are 400D shots.

Canon 40D, S&S MDX-40D housing, Inon Z-240's
Sony HC7 & Gates Housing
 


#25 ipepper

ipepper

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 02 June 2008 - 08:00 AM

Now that Canon has come out with the new XSi, has anyone tried to see if you can use it in the 350D housing?

#26 pakman

pakman

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1099 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hong Kong via Seattle...

Posted 03 April 2009 - 07:40 PM

Just uploading pics related to the button mod directly to Wetpixel as the original thread's previous photo links do not work anymore.

Attached Images

  • 400D_button_mod.jpg
  • original_button.jpg
  • plastic_wall_anchor.jpg
  • rubber_tip_removed.jpg
  • trimmed_to_shape.jpg

Canon 40D, S&S MDX-40D housing, Inon Z-240's
Sony HC7 & Gates Housing
 


#27 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9968 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 04 April 2009 - 12:27 PM

Thanks!
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#28 Jongwon Woo

Jongwon Woo

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
  • Location:S.Korea

Posted 04 April 2009 - 01:43 PM

Nice try and great news!

#29 stewsmith

stewsmith

    Giant Squid

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1578 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:southampton and Sinai
  • Interests:World travel
    diving
    photography
    winding Drew up

Posted 05 April 2009 - 04:16 AM

looking at the spec dimensions of the 500D it appears to be built on the same chasis as the 350D so it might be possible to put the new 500D into the 350D housing. Has anyone tried this.

stew

Canon 5D MK2 - Sea and Sea housed - 17-40L 100mm - Sigma 15mm FE - twin YS250 pro's and gadgets galore

 

http://www.euphoticzoneimaging.com

 


#30 knyc2000

knyc2000

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 April 2009 - 06:35 PM

looking at the spec dimensions of the 500D it appears to be built on the same chasis as the 350D so it might be possible to put the new 500D into the 350D housing. Has anyone tried this.

stew


The 500D appears to be built on the same chasis as the 450D, the 350D has buttons on the left which th e500D doesn't have.
I'm pretty sure the 500D will not fit housing for 350D...

Chai