• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 carl_goodier

carl_goodier

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 08 February 2003 - 11:05 PM

I have been hearing for along time that digital saves so much as the price per picture is cheaperthan film. I am not an expert account but do have basic finance competencies, I started putting things on a row.

Conclusion: It would take est.25,000 pictures before the price per pic is lower than that of a film using Velvia( F80 ). If only used for my diving, it would take me 15 years to get to break even, and if use on land, maybe it might go down to 10 years. Most high tech equipment has a write down period of 3 to 5 years........ conclusion. For pro's who shoot alot, they will get their money's worth, for ameteurs who shoot a reasonable amount ( 120 rolls a year ), the numbers dont justify the use of digital.

Wish I knew how to post my spread sheet on this forum.

Assumptions :
-Based on what I can buy the staff for here in Thailand
( USD$ )
Digital Body 2100, computer 1900, software 250 memory card 500 ( excludes cost of storage of 25,000 pictures on CD"s! )

Film
Velvia + develop $7.30, camera body and light box $915

Lens - using AF 105 2.8D micro, common to both so not in calculation.

Contructive comments welcome

#2 scottyb

scottyb

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 357 posts

Posted 09 February 2003 - 05:56 AM

To start with my computer is not part of the cost because it's the same computer I use to print, post, and send film photos as well as other personal tasks. I have been doing this for the last 5 years. To do this I either have to buy a film scanner or have them burned professionally @ $1.69+ per image. I usually narrowed it down to 50 or so from an extended trip.