Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Adobe Photoshop CS3 Public Beta


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 Craig Ruaux

Craig Ruaux

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon, USA

Posted 14 December 2006 - 07:34 PM

Adobe has announced a public beta program for CS3.

You need a valid CS2 licence number to activate it, so CS users (like myself) are SOL.

A preliminary look at CS3 is posted on ArsTechnica.

The download (and a big one at that :D ) is available from

http://labs.adobe.co...s/photoshopcs3/





(it's universal binary for mac users, and apparently qualifies as tehnewhotnesss11!! :P )

Edited by Craig Ruaux, 15 December 2006 - 10:36 AM.

Why would I take a perfectly good camera underwater??
D300, D200, D70, 12-24 f4 AFS DX, 60mm f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 AF-S VR, 105 f2.8 AF-S VR, Tokina Wunderlens.

Photo galleries @ Ruaux.net

#2 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10647 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 14 December 2006 - 08:52 PM

So what you're really saying is that you are using an unlicenced copy of CS2? :P

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#3 JackConnick

JackConnick

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Sailing, diving, women, cats

Posted 14 December 2006 - 09:10 PM

I'll give it a go on my lowly 1.4Ghz G4.

Gee, do ya think Apple might of pushed them to get something universal out that supports the new macs? Might possibly be affecting sales??

I'll report back in a couple of days.

Jack

Jack Connick
Optical Ocean Sales.com Sea & Sea, Olympus, Ikelite, Athena, Zen, Fix, Nauticam, Aquatica, Seacam, Gates, 10Bar, Light & Motion, iTorch/I-DAS & Fantasea Line - Cameras, Housings, Strobes, Arms, Trays & Accessories
Blog & Gallery: Optical Ocean Sales Blog
Flickr Gallerys: Optical Ocean on Flickr


#4 Kory Nakatsu

Kory Nakatsu

    Clownfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scottsdale, AZ USA

Posted 14 December 2006 - 10:30 PM

So what you're really saying is that you are using an unlicenced copy of CS2? :P


No. What he said was that he is a CS user, not CS2 and therefore, does not have a valid CS2 license.
Kory Nakatsu
Nakatsus.com

#5 Rocha

Rocha

    Salty Dog

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3073 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California Academy of Sciences, San Francisco, CA

Posted 14 December 2006 - 10:37 PM

This is great news indeed, now I can think about getting one of those new Macbook Pros. But I've been using the trial version of Aperture and it has impressed me a lot so far.

Kory: Drew was just messing with Craig... :P

Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.


#6 saeedrashid

saeedrashid

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK

Posted 15 December 2006 - 01:39 AM

This is great news indeed, now I can think about getting one of those new Macbook Pros. But I've been using the trial version of Aperture and it has impressed me a lot so far.

Kory: Drew was just messing with Craig... :P


Just been playing with it. Not that much new stuff for us PPC users.... :D But is there ever?

Smart filters are cool but thats about it.

Edited by saeedrashid, 15 December 2006 - 01:41 AM.

Saeed

#7 Craig Ruaux

Craig Ruaux

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon, USA

Posted 15 December 2006 - 07:49 AM

So what you're really saying is that you are using an unlicenced copy of CS2? :P



I never really saw a compelling need for CS2. I don't tend to do much with PS other than spotting and contrast/curves adjustments, which I now do with Aperture. So I decided to sit out an ugrade cycle.
Why would I take a perfectly good camera underwater??
D300, D200, D70, 12-24 f4 AFS DX, 60mm f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 AF-S VR, 105 f2.8 AF-S VR, Tokina Wunderlens.

Photo galleries @ Ruaux.net

#8 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 15 December 2006 - 02:11 PM

I downloaded CS3 today, but the program will not install.
I get the following message:
Installation cannot continue until the following applications are closed:
TWAINBridge

I cannot find any such application to close. Anyone have any ideas?
Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#9 Craig Ruaux

Craig Ruaux

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 788 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oregon, USA

Posted 15 December 2006 - 05:16 PM

Do you have a scanner attached to the computer?

If so, unplug it or turn it off; TWAINBridge is a system level process for interacting with scanners.

If this does not help, open Activity Monitor (Applications>Utilities>Activity Monitor), make sure the pop-up menu indicates All Processes, find the twainbridge process and quit it. If you do this you'll probably need to restart before a scanner will work again.

This should work.
Why would I take a perfectly good camera underwater??
D300, D200, D70, 12-24 f4 AFS DX, 60mm f2.8, 70-200 f2.8 AF-S VR, 105 f2.8 AF-S VR, Tokina Wunderlens.

Photo galleries @ Ruaux.net

#10 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 15 December 2006 - 08:40 PM

Good job Craig; I thought it had something to do with a scanner -but my scanner was not connected. Then I realized my 3-in-1 printer was. Thanks.
Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#11 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5844 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 15 December 2006 - 08:55 PM

CRAP. I'm on a slowish connection here in Tokyo and had 500MB+ downloaded (for the Mac) when Firefox 2 crashed. ARGH...
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#12 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 16 December 2006 - 06:06 AM

I've played with it a little bit; for someone who is hardly a sophisticated photoshop user, it seems about the same except for a neater interface.
Anyone have any suggestions for processor intensive procedures I should try to compare CS2 and CS3?
Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#13 loftus

loftus

    Blue Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Winter Park, Fl

Posted 16 December 2006 - 06:27 AM

Okay, I've played with some filters now. Seems to be about twice as fast as CS2 on the Intel Mac.

I've played with it a little bit; for someone who is hardly a sophisticated photoshop user, it seems about the same except for a neater interface.
Anyone have any suggestions for processor intensive procedures I should try to compare CS2 and CS3?


Nikon D800, Nikon D7000, Nauticam, Inons, Subtronic Novas. Lens collection - 10-17, 15, 16, 16-35, 14-24, 24-70, 85, 18-200, 28-300, 70-200, 60 and 105, TC's. Macs with Aperture and Photoshop.

#14 ehanauer

ehanauer

    Eagle Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 358 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego, California
  • Interests:Diving, Chicago Cubs baseball, Mac computers, swimming, Porsches

Posted 16 December 2006 - 09:14 AM

Definitely faster on my Macbook Pro. They've also integrated some of the controls from Lightroom into Camera Raw. Also Bridge is vastly improved.
Eric
www.ehanauer.com

#15 saeedrashid

saeedrashid

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK

Posted 16 December 2006 - 11:03 AM

Also Bridge is vastly improved.


Yes but who really uses Bridge? I never liked it...
Saeed

#16 saeedrashid

saeedrashid

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK

Posted 19 December 2006 - 12:56 AM

Some benchmark test have been posted here

http://www.barefeats.com/quad16.html
Saeed

#17 MikeVeitch

MikeVeitch

    1.7kbps Manta Boy

  • Senior Moderator
  • 6193 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:In Bali, Indonesia but from Vancouver, BC
  • Interests:Teaching Underwater Photography

Posted 19 December 2006 - 05:51 AM

i like Bridge...

Unfortunately someone told me it is something like 640mb download...

that would take 6 days...


forget that

Join us for an Underwater Photography Workshop in Ambon March 2015
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in Indonesia or Join me on a trip www.underwatertribe.com


#18 saeedrashid

saeedrashid

    Lionfish

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dorset, UK

Posted 19 December 2006 - 07:19 AM

i like Bridge...


What do you mainly use it for?
Saeed

#19 JoelD

JoelD

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:SW Misery...Err Missouri

Posted 19 December 2006 - 08:14 AM

All I can say is WOW!
Since Bridge came out, I was disappointed at how slow, sluggish and useless it felt, Bridge 2 seems to be a VAST improvement in managing images.

If you happen to be a NAPP member, there are some very nice video tutorials explaining some of the new features of Bridge and Photoshop.
If you aren't a NAPP member, their homepage still links to nice explinations of the new features, etc.

[Soapbox ON]
And if you're not a NAPP member and you own Photoshop, you probably should be, your images will thank you.....
[/Soapbox OFF]

NAPP's website: http://www.photoshopuser.com

Disclaimer: I'm just a NAPP member, and enjoy it greatly...
Joel D.
http://www.widgetsandmore.com

Nikon D300, D70s & a bunch of Ikelite stuff and all sorts of stuff my wife doesn't know about. Shhhhhh!

Join the National Association of Photoshop Professionals Today

#20 PRC

PRC

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1163 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Guernsey Channel Islands

Posted 19 December 2006 - 10:47 PM

What do you mainly use it for?


Hi saeedrashid,

I use Bridge for sorting through my pics and launching into the RAW editor and maybe finally taking the image into photoshop to finish it off / sharpen etc.

I also batch process from bridge, adding exif data and renaming files from the _DSC000521 to something slightly more meaningful.

Having said that my whole workflow is not exactly ideal, so, as I believe that you are far better than me ( some of the tutorials that you have written are impressive ), I for one would appreciate any suggestions you have re workflow.

What do you do when returning from a trip with say 1000 pics stored on a HDD in different directories each dir starting with the same filename ( say _DSC0001.nef ! ).


Paul C
Nikon D300, Subal, 2 * Inon 240
Water Temp (just cold & Nasty)
My Pictures