Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

New Sea&Sea TTL Converter Compatibility List


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#1 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 18 January 2007 - 12:47 AM

Sea&Sea web site now present a new compatibility list for TTL CONVERTER I and II. Very important informations about compatibility between flash and converters ttl. The new Ys 110 don't work with TTL CONVERTER I.


You can see my tests from here. I still testing the TTL CONVERTER II with DX-D200 and D200.
Sorry, for the moment the web page is only in italian. Thank you to Fracosub (italian Sea&Sea delear) for helping me in tests with differents flashs and converters. I hope tests could help other Sea&Sea owners.

Link to compatibility list by Sea&Sea
http://www.seaandsea...essory/ttl.html


Erik
www.erikhenchoz.com

Edited by erik, 18 January 2007 - 01:02 AM.


#2 Rattus

Rattus

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:Cambridge UK

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:06 AM

Oops, that lack of YS-110 support on the Mark I has to be a bit embarassing for them.

Good work finding the new Compatibility list.

Martyn
Canon 5D
S&S DX-5D housing, TTL, YS-110s, ULCS, etc.

#3 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 18 January 2007 - 05:00 AM

Yes Martyn and another think: i have tried the new Ys110 with Fyji S2pro in Sea&Sea housing and the camera display an error in P mode, in manual mode it works (you can shot) but ttl don't works (overesposed shots). So Ys110 seems not suitable for the old but great S2pro.

Thank you

ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

Edited by erik, 18 January 2007 - 05:04 AM.


#4 seagrant

seagrant

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 789 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Clearwater, Florida
  • Interests:http://www.oceangrant.com

Posted 18 January 2007 - 08:21 AM

Sea&Sea web site now present a new compatibility list for TTL CONVERTER I and II. Very important informations about compatibility between flash and converters ttl. The new Ys 110 don't work with TTL CONVERTER I.
Link to compatibility list by Sea&Sea
http://www.seaandsea...essory/ttl.html
Erik
www.erikhenchoz.com


Very interesting. I'm on my 3rd replacement Sea and Sea TTL converter now (10+ hours of total underwater time trying to get these things to work), used this 3rd one for 3 hours u/w, not enough time to make a decision on this 3rd replacement but I found it was very inconsistent with a few totally blown-out shots (but at least it wasn't dead-out of-the-box like 2 others I got). I thought it was just really bad for wide-angle with ambient light........., but now I see it is incompatible with the 110 strobes I have (which were supposed to be more compatible with it than other strobes).

Yes I think Sea and Sea needs to spend a little less development time and money on their "hard-sell" techniques (ref - booth and salespeople at DEMA '06), and maybe less time and money on glossy ads; and more time on reliability and truth in advertising (remember the original TTL unit was advertised in print as being very positive in water, wherein it is 6 to 7oz neg in fact); and more attention to reliability and value for money instead of attention on profit margin. Profit will follow if the products work as advertised.

Just honest input from a customer who has used the units. I'm not sure if I'll try the new converter 2 or just go with manual.

Carol

http://www.oceangrant.com
Facebook-Oceangrant

Twitter-Oceangrant

d300/Subal/ULCS/Sea & Sea 110s/16;12-24;60;105vr;Tokina 10-17


#5 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 18 January 2007 - 10:34 AM

Hi Carol,
after 2 week testing TTL CONVERTER I and II now i can say:
1) only the TTL CONVERTER I (first release) give problems with Ys 110 but works very well with YS-90DUO (all releases and also the YS-90 AUTO), Ys120 (like explained in the Compatibility List)
2) The TTL CONVERTER II work now well with the Ys110

For different result with macro or wide angle photos:
is a common opinion that TTL is great with macro shots and portraits but not for wideangle shots. With wideangle a lot of time is will to much difficult for the TTL circuit to read the light on the scene and this will make exposure errors.
I prefefere to use TTL only for macro or for close shots. For wideangle i use manual setting (TTL CONVERTER and camera) infact i found very good the possibility to switch the converter in manual mode and use the power dial on the flash.
I'm very interested in your opinion and maybe if you are using the Converter with differents SEA&SEA strobes you can send us your considerations and some demo shots.
Many thanks

ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

Edited by erik, 19 January 2007 - 02:43 AM.


#6 Rattus

Rattus

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:Cambridge UK

Posted 18 January 2007 - 10:34 AM

Hi Carol,

I would have thought you'd have an ideal case with Sea&Sea USA for getting them to swap your Mk.I unit out for a Mk.II, seeing as how you were somewhat mislead about its compatibility with the YS-110s which you also bought through them. Maybe Ryan could bring it up with them.

Martyn
Canon 5D
S&S DX-5D housing, TTL, YS-110s, ULCS, etc.

#7 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 18 January 2007 - 01:10 PM

Yes i can confirm Martyn, good suggestion.
I test products for Sea&Sea Italian delear and testing the ys110 with TTL CONVERTER I we discovered this problem. Sea&Sea was sure that the TTL CONVERTER I was ok with Ys110 but was not true and infact they have update compatibility list, how i was posting here.

For Carol,
so i think that you can ask to SEA&SEA Usa to change the TTL CONVERTER I with the second release. I have changed my personal TTL CONVERTER last week here in italy and now i can use Ys110 - Dx90 Duo and Auto + Ys120.

Good dives

ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

Edited by erik, 18 January 2007 - 01:13 PM.


#8 LChan

LChan

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Location:San Francisco Bay Area

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:04 PM

How can you tell if you have the converter 1 or 2.

Is it labeled a certain way? Serial Numbers?

The sea and sea website does not seem to have pictures or descriptions describing the TTL converter.

thanks.
Nikon D200 - Subal housing - 10.5mm, 12-24mm, 17-35mm, 60mm, 105mmVR - Dual Ikelite DS-125 - ULCS arms.
Canon SD550 - Canon housing (pocket videocam)

Larry Chan -- My Webpage

#9 shchae

shchae

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Korea,USA,Philippines

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:19 PM

Erik,

Two things.
1.The difference on type I & II is to cover new camera(D80), not new strobes. How did you tested converter & strobe ? How many of them tested ? there was several report about quality problem with TTL converter AND YS-110(it was on hold because of quality issue too.) & you might have a bad converter or a bad strobe and/or both.

2.S2Pro uses old Nikon/Nikonos film TTL & does not need TTL converter.

I am not trying to support/protect S&S but, just want to know your test is correctly & fairly done.

Sam

Edited by shchae, 18 January 2007 - 03:30 PM.

D800/D4 in modified Nexus housing
and Nauticam D-7000 with Insect-eye lens.

#10 shchae

shchae

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Korea,USA,Philippines

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:36 PM

Regarding how to find it is type I or II,

It is not easy to find. In fact, it is not easy to find whether it is E-TTL converter (for Canon)
or i-TTL converter(for Nikon D-SLR).

1.E-TTL converter has " C" mark outside & has 6pin connector.
2.i-TTL converter I has "N" mark & just say TTL CONVERTER.
3.i-TTL converter II has "N" mark & say TTL CONVERTER II.

Sam
D800/D4 in modified Nexus housing
and Nauticam D-7000 with Insect-eye lens.

#11 shchae

shchae

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Korea,USA,Philippines

Posted 18 January 2007 - 03:43 PM

I just called my friend who has S&S i-TTL converter + 2x YS110(Got last week) + Nexus D200 housing and his setup is working.

I used S&S i-TTL converter II with 2 x Inon Z-220 , 2xInon Z-240 & 2 x YS-120 myself last week & TTL function was all working even though its battery compartment was melted & damaged my housing.

Sam

Edited by shchae, 18 January 2007 - 03:50 PM.

D800/D4 in modified Nexus housing
and Nauticam D-7000 with Insect-eye lens.

#12 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 19 January 2007 - 01:22 AM

Hi guys i'm very happy to know interest on TLL CONVERTER

I will search to reply to questions:

1) I'm helping Sea&Sea italian deleat to testing new products so i'm a happy owner of Sea&Sea products. My post was only for more informations. Is very important that peolpe know compatibility, differently you can buy wrong products (example that happended to Carol, maybe she could ask to USA Sea&Sea to change the Converter)

2) Tests was maked in 2 different moments: dry - testing the TTL not underwater but on land, very easy to check if the led confirm the right exposition, and UW tests for 2 weeks. I use Nikon D200 Nikon D70 and Fuji S2pro housed in Sea&Sea housing so i can oly speak about this types of camera and TTL CONVERTER for Nikon, i don't have Canon. We tested CONVERTER AND YS-110 because the italian delear had some compatibility problems with differents customers (with Nikon).

3) The TTL CONVERTER II not cover only the new D80. Sure the D80 have a different TTL circuit and Sea&Sea had make an hard job to make the CONVERTER II compatible with it, but the new release of the CONVERTER i think is born not just for this but to make compatibility also with Ys110, diferently with CONVERTER I the YS110 don't works in TTL (we have tried with maybe 10 flash), this explain also why Sea&Sea published on line a new Compatibility list writing that Ys-110 don't works with first release of TTL CONVERTER. First when trying we was sure that the problem was in the Ys110 but after received the new CONVERTER II and tested all changed because the TTL works fine.

4) I know differences betwen S2pro TTL and Nikon Digital TTL. I'm still using sometimes my old S2pro with YS-90 Dx because i love it (expetially for macro), it was my firts Reflex used underwater and i buyed it just for this reason :-), the possibility to use it in TTL with my old flash.
My post was only to inform S2pro Owners that maybe would like to buy an YS-110 :-). The YS-110 attached to the S2pro with a Sea&Sea syncro flash don't work in TTL. If you put the camera in P mode when you turn on the it will give an error, if you use M mode the camera shot but TTL make error and all shot are white (over exposed).

5) TTL CONVERTER I and II are the same out side but not inside :-) The only way, very easy, to know the release it to read the name marked on it in capital letter - FOR THE FIRST RELEASE IS "TTL CONVERTER" for the second is "TTL CONVERTER II".

In conclusion:
i find that the TTL CONVERTER is a very good product, i maked good shot with it with some experience.
Sea&Sea maked an hard and good work expecially to make compatibility. The only problem was with the First release of the CONVERTER (I), now with the news release (II) the compatibility is ok also with Ys110 how you can see on the new compatibility list.
If you use YS-90DX, YS-90AUTO, Ys-120TTL Duo you can use the first release.

VERY IMPORTANT:
we have tested some CONVERTERS with same results but i'm not sure that all pieces of FIRST RELEASE have the incompatibility with Ys110. A good think is to test and to ask informations to your delear, maybe an email to Sea&Sea directly will be the fastest think to do. In any case i suggest to use the second release.

For Carol:
change your TTL CONVERTER to the TTL CONVERTER II and your will be able to shot in ttl with YS-110 (is a very good flash) but i suggest to not use TTL and to put the CONVERTER in manual mode for wideangle shots

Thank you guys, an sorry for my poor english


ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

Edited by erik, 19 January 2007 - 03:02 AM.


#13 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 19 January 2007 - 01:38 AM

I just called my friend who has S&S i-TTL converter + 2x YS110(Got last week) + Nexus D200 housing and his setup is working.

I used S&S i-TTL converter II with 2 x Inon Z-220 , 2xInon Z-240 & 2 x YS-120 myself last week & TTL function was all working even though its battery compartment was melted & damaged my housing.

Sam



Hi Sam very sad to know your problems. But how the battery compartement was melted...maybe was flooded? And why your housing was damaged? In past i have flooded 2 flash but no damage to housing... do you have some electronic circuit inside damaged? I never flooded TTL CONVERTER but i was sure that in this case the only damage was in the converter.

Thank you

ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

#14 Rattus

Rattus

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 293 posts
  • Location:Cambridge UK

Posted 19 January 2007 - 05:00 AM

Erik,

If you check out Sam's post about "melting" you'll find that what happened was the chrome on the battery compartment bubbled up and fell off due to elecrolytic corrosion. Some good pictures in there. This seems to be linked to a circuit being made through the housing. The Nexus housing that Sam uses would appear to be succeptible to this problem, either due to a metal camera mount (seems unlikely - I don't think the tripod screw is grounded on the 5D - could be wrong) or the particular ground wiring of the bulkhead socket.

Hopefully if the metal camera mount is the issue, then a Delrin mount could be machined to break the circuit, otherwise a de-grounding of the bulkhead body might fix it.

Martyn

Edited by Rattus, 19 January 2007 - 05:01 AM.

Canon 5D
S&S DX-5D housing, TTL, YS-110s, ULCS, etc.

#15 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 19 January 2007 - 05:30 AM

Erik,

If you check out Sam's post about "melting" you'll find that what happened was the chrome on the battery compartment bubbled up and fell off due to elecrolytic corrosion. Some good pictures in there. This seems to be linked to a circuit being made through the housing. The Nexus housing that Sam uses would appear to be succeptible to this problem, either due to a metal camera mount (seems unlikely - I don't think the tripod screw is grounded on the 5D - could be wrong) or the particular ground wiring of the bulkhead socket.

Hopefully if the metal camera mount is the issue, then a Delrin mount could be machined to break the circuit, otherwise a de-grounding of the bulkhead body might fix it.

Martyn



Uhooo! Thank you, i was in Marsa Alam and i missed this interesting post. I will read it.
E very strange problem
Than you


ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

#16 shchae

shchae

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Korea,USA,Philippines

Posted 19 January 2007 - 01:12 PM

Erik,
Thanks for the details.

A lesson was learned on my case & it is not easy to resolve the issue when MANY parties are involved (S&S,Inon,Nexus,Dealer & User).....

Sam
D800/D4 in modified Nexus housing
and Nauticam D-7000 with Insect-eye lens.

#17 underwatercolours

underwatercolours

    Manta Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:So. California
  • Interests:skinny dipping, sailing, snow skiing, water skiing, art galleries, classic cars, flying

Posted 19 January 2007 - 04:10 PM

I've been using the Sea & Sea TTL converter on the DX-D200 housing with dual Ikelite DS125 strobes since July. I was told by Sea & Sea in the US that these strobes had not been tested, but mine have been working flawlessly. The first shot exposures were a lot closer to perfect than anything I'm able to do in manual mode. Nothing like the old TTL we used to use on the Nikonos cameras. Even for close-focus wide angle, I consistently got great exposures, even when shooting directly into the sun.

A friend of mine in Florida was shooting with two Inon strobes and also got very good results, but I don't know how she was shooting. I believe she got the setup from Ryan at Reef Photo.

The true test of this thing was my December trip to Socorro on the Solmar V to shoot mantas. The only shots where I blew out the highlights with my flash was when I was in manual mode. I shot only wide angle with a 10.5 fisheye or 12-24 lens. I got some of the best manta shots I've ever taken...all in TTL. I even tried shooting in Program mode and got good results.

I'll be doing more macro on my trip to Cozumel in February so I'll see how it does on that, but I expect great results. I never thought I'd be a TTL shooter, but especially for fast moving subjects like mantas and sharks, the TTL converter does a better job than my 20 years of experience. :D

Bonnie

#18 Simon K.

Simon K.

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 637 posts
  • Location:Frankfurt, Germany

Posted 20 January 2007 - 02:19 AM

I've been using the Sea & Sea TTL converter on the DX-D200 housing with dual Ikelite DS125 strobes since July. I


Thanks for this very promising report.
Has anyone else experience with the S&S Converter and Ikelite Strobes especially with Canon Cameras?
I'm going to upgrade to a 5D with S&S Housing this year and would like to use the Converter.

Simon

#19 erik

erik

    Wolf Eel

  • Industry
  • PipPip
  • 130 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted 21 January 2007 - 02:01 AM

Erik,
Thanks for the details.

A lesson was learned on my case & it is not easy to resolve the issue when MANY parties are involved (S&S,Inon,Nexus,Dealer & User).....

Sam


Hi Sam
Yes, very sad to discover your problems, i hope you solv it.

ERIK
www.erikhenchoz.com

#20 lou

lou

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Location:Rome - Italy

Posted 21 January 2007 - 05:48 AM

If I look at all S&S sites , They just mention the compatibility with S&S housings. Does anyone understand why ?
I know that some of you has succesfully tested the converter with other housings and it seems it works. Does it happen by chance or there are some pre-requisistes to be satisfied to use the S&S converter?
Why doesn't S&S say anything on that ? I think it could be an opportunity for them.

I have just got a new Hugyfot housing for my D200 and I'm wondering whether I could use the S&S conveter
The other options (such as inside cards converters) do not allow me to switch from ttl to manual underwater since to do that you need to switch on the second courtain synchronization and the Hugy does not have this function available.

(Oh ...so many questions all at once ! )