 Wetpixel Online - Dedicated to Underwater Photography and Videography - News, Features, Reviews, Classifieds, Photo Contests, and Community Forums
|
  |
scubamagazine.net are spammers w/shady business practice |
|
|
|
|
Jan 21 2007, 01:43 PM
|

Starfish

Member
Posts: 5
Houston, TX USA

|
QUOTE (echeng @ Jan 21 2007, 05:51 AM)  I've also received confirmation from Stephen Whelan that scubamagazine.net [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] is also spamming at deeperblue.net.
iDiveChick has accounts at digitaldiver, plankton forums, scubaboard, and more. At least we caught them early and put a stop to it here at Wetpixel. Thanks Eric, had iDiveChick post a few on the Plankton Forums and took care of "her." Bloody spammers... the ban list just keeps growing and growing....
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 22 2007, 06:18 AM
|

Sting Ray
  
Member
Posts: 237
Hermosa Beach, CA

|
QUOTE (echeng @ Jan 21 2007, 03:54 PM)  It also looks like many of the images in iDiveChick's gallery on scubamagazine.net [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] were stolen from other photographers. They are tagged "author unk". A friend pointed out that some of idivechick's images were mine! To his/her credit, idivechick removed the images when confronted. The excuse was, "lots of people send me pictures!"
This post has been edited by jlyle: Jan 22 2007, 06:20 AM
--
Olympus E-330/Ikelite housing with dual DS-125 strobes Zuiko 7-14, Zuiko 14-54, Zuiko 50, & Sigma 105mm lenses. My web page.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 28 2007, 04:37 PM
|

Great Hammerhead
   
Industry
Posts: 843
Seattle, WA

|
QUOTE (belizediversity @ Jan 28 2007, 04:55 PM)  idivechick is also on flickr, it's just one picture of a blond bird with a caption saying "Come say hello to me at http:www.scubamagazine.net [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor]". Pretty lame really. Yeah, spammed my cold water diving group. too. Lame Jack
--
Jack ConnickOptical Ocean Sales.com Sea & Sea, Olympus, Ikelite, Nauticam, 10Bar, FujiFilm, & Fantasea Line - Cameras, Housings, Strobes, Arms, Trays & AccessoriesBlog & Gallery: Optical Ocean: Above & BelowFlickr Gallerys: Optical Ocean on Flickr
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 29 2007, 01:49 PM
|
Sting Ray
  
Member
Posts: 288
Palo Alto, California (Dive in Monterey)

|
Wait, no one say anything positive here ... At least I think iDivechick's protrait was cute  Disagree ?
--
Dominic Flickr: CADiverBlog: 葉Nikon D90, Tokina, Nikkor, Nexus, Inon Z240 IV.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 29 2007, 02:01 PM
|

The Engineer

Admin
Posts: 9,572
Houston TX

|
I think that's the idea CADiver...
--
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing Dual Ikelite Strobes Photo site - www.reefpix.org
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 30 2007, 12:05 AM
|
Brine Shrimp

Member
Posts: 1

|
Same behaviours over with us @ RebreatherWorld - duly banned there as well.
Stuart
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 31 2007, 08:30 AM
|
Triggerfish

Member
Posts: 42

|
well on another board theres a new member that makes me wonder if its not the same person. Im not trying to advertise but trying to get some info for the mods of the site link to profile on other site http://www.singledivers.com/surfaceinterva...p?showuser=3290then if anyone knows where the avatar photo came from please send me a PM and let me know so i can contact the copyright holder and let them know of the violation. Dan
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Jan 31 2007, 09:27 AM
|

The Devil

Admin
Posts: 4,664
San Francisco, CA

|
QUOTE (Scubatooth @ Jan 31 2007, 09:30 AM)  well on another board theres a new member that makes me wonder if its not the same person. Im not trying to advertise but trying to get some info for the mods of the site link to profile on other site http://www.singledivers.com/surfaceinterva...p?showuser=3290then if anyone knows where the avatar photo came from please send me a PM and let me know so i can contact the copyright holder and let them know of the violation. Dan Dan -- iDiveChick came from 65.111.169.35 (which has been banned on my site). Does the IP address match?
--
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Feb 24 2007, 11:10 AM
|

Great Hammerhead

Team Wetpixel
Posts: 849
Seattle, WA

|
idivechick not only had one of my photos (a bobtail squid with "Author unk", which she said she'd remove when I called her attention to it) on the scubamagazine website, but -- FAR more egregious IMO -- she is also SELLING that and one of my more recent photos FOR SALE on her Photobucket website! http://s125.photobucket.com/albums/p...ror-shrimp.gifThat one is from my recent Indonesia Nov-Dec 2006 gallery: http://www.underwaterreflections.com/gallery/2275895In both cases, she has the photos labeled as being taken by HER. I called her on it in this thread (which she, ironically, started to warn people not to use others' photos) on her website: http://www.scubamagazine.net [known spammer -editor]/showthread.ph...sted=1#post1952She was apologetic about the squid shot on that site, but hasn't responded yet to me finding the two on her Photobucket site. Pretty sleazy...
--
Bruce Yates www.UnderwaterReflections.com Canon 5DMkII in Aquatica, 1DsMkII in Seacam, G9 in OEM...Inon Z240's "If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Then quit. No use being a damned fool about it." WC Fields
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Feb 24 2007, 01:11 PM
|
Giant Squid

Team Wetpixel
Posts: 1,757

|
QUOTE (bmyates @ Feb 24 2007, 03:10 PM)  She was apologetic about the squid shot on that site, but hasn't responded yet to me finding the two on her Photobucket site. Pretty sleazy... The link to the shrimp is down, but FWIW you can also try this. http://photobucket.com/copyright.php
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
  |
|
|