scubamagazine.net are spammers w/shady business practice
#1
Posted 21 January 2007 - 01:10 AM
Apologies for letting it through. We're taking action to make sure it's harder for people to do that.
And -- shame on scubamagazine.net for spamming. I'm going to make sure the entire online publishing dive community is aware of your actions. If anyone reading this is participating in the forums at scubamagazine.net, you may want to rethink your participation in a company who stoops to spamming.
For future reference, the two Wetpixel users who were spamming are "PhotoGirl" and "iDiveChick", both of whom came from ip address 65.111.169.35, which resolves to a machine at serverpronto.com.
#2
Posted 21 January 2007 - 02:51 AM
iDiveChick has accounts at digitaldiver, plankton forums, scubaboard, and more. At least we caught them early and put a stop to it here at Wetpixel. Scubaboard has banned them and has added "scubamagazine.net" as a "bad word" in the system. Wetpixel should post an automatic editor comment whenever an non-admin includes it in text as well.
#3
Posted 21 January 2007 - 02:43 PM
I've also received confirmation from Stephen Whelan that [url=http://wetpixel.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=17238]scubamagazine.net[/url] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] is also spamming at deeperblue.net.
iDiveChick has accounts at digitaldiver, plankton forums, scubaboard, and more. At least we caught them early and put a stop to it here at Wetpixel.
Thanks Eric, had iDiveChick post a few on the Plankton Forums and took care of "her." Bloody spammers... the ban list just keeps growing and growing....
#5
Posted 21 January 2007 - 07:23 PM
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#6
Posted 22 January 2007 - 07:18 AM
It also looks like many of the images in iDiveChick's gallery on [url=http://wetpixel.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=17238]scubamagazine.net[/url] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] were stolen from other photographers. They are tagged "author unk".
A friend pointed out that some of idivechick's images were mine! To his/her credit, idivechick removed the images when confronted. The excuse was, "lots of people send me pictures!"
Edited by jlyle, 22 January 2007 - 07:20 AM.
8mm, 12-50mm, 45mm lenses
My web page.
#7
Posted 28 January 2007 - 04:55 PM
#8
Posted 28 January 2007 - 05:37 PM
idivechick is also on flickr, it's just one picture of a blond bird with a caption saying "Come say hello to me at http:www.[url=http://wetpixel.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=17238]scubamagazine.net[/url] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor] [known spammer -editor]". Pretty lame really.
Yeah, spammed my cold water diving group. too.
Lame
Jack
Optical Ocean Sales.com Sea & Sea, Olympus, Ikelite, Athena, Zen, Fix, Nauticam, Aquatica, Gates, 10Bar, Light & Motion, iTorch/I-DAS & Fantasea Line -
Cameras, Housings, Strobes, Arms, Trays & Accessories
Blog & Gallery: Optical Ocean: Above & Below
Flickr Gallerys: Optical Ocean on Flickr
#10
Posted 29 January 2007 - 03:01 PM
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org
#11
Posted 30 January 2007 - 01:05 AM
Stuart
#12
Posted 30 January 2007 - 03:35 PM
Joe
Author, Catalina Island - All you Need to Know
www.californiaunderwater.com
www.visitingcatalina.com
#13
Posted 31 January 2007 - 09:30 AM
link to profile on other site
http://www.singlediv...p?showuser=3290
then if anyone knows where the avatar photo came from please send me a PM and let me know so i can contact the copyright holder and let them know of the violation.
Dan
#14
Posted 31 January 2007 - 10:27 AM
Dan -- iDiveChick came from 65.111.169.35 (which has been banned on my site). Does the IP address match?well on another board theres a new member that makes me wonder if its not the same person. Im not trying to advertise but trying to get some info for the mods of the site
link to profile on other site
http://www.singlediv...p?showuser=3290
then if anyone knows where the avatar photo came from please send me a PM and let me know so i can contact the copyright holder and let them know of the violation.
Dan
#15
Posted 31 January 2007 - 02:34 PM
iDiveChick came from 65.111.169.35
I may be wrong, but this IP address is a proxy server used by ShadowSurf.com. I ran some tests with my own site's secure form and came up with the same IP over and over again. So whoever is doing this is making a deliberate effort to hide their real identity. If you Google "iDiveChick" it comes up on every board, forum, chat room, and message board imaginable. Looks like someone had a plan. I wonder what it was and who's behind it. Perhaps CDNN? <_<
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#16
Posted 31 January 2007 - 04:55 PM
Also google search yields a user who goes by "Finster," who apparently did the site integration work for scubamagazine.net ( he/she had to go to the vBulletin and PHP Post bulletin boards for coding help). A "finster" also appears on ScubaBoard.
#17
Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:33 PM
65.111.169.35 = Miami / Fort Lauderdale.
[map images removed by Eric]
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au
#18
Posted 31 January 2007 - 05:37 PM
Not so useful... (I'm going to remove the images -- they're wide, and make this page layout awkward)
#19
Posted 24 February 2007 - 12:10 PM

That one is from my recent Indonesia Nov-Dec 2006 gallery: http://www.underwate...gallery/2275895
In both cases, she has the photos labeled as being taken by HER. I called her on it in this thread (which she, ironically, started to warn people not to use others' photos) on her website:
http://www.scubamaga...sted=1#post1952
She was apologetic about the squid shot on that site, but hasn't responded yet to me finding the two on her Photobucket site. Pretty sleazy...
www.UnderwaterReflections.com
Canon 5DMkII in Aquatica, 1DsMkII in Seacam, G9 in OEM...Inon Z240's...too many lenses
"If at first you don't succeed, try, try again. Then quit. No use being a damned fool about it." WC Fields
#20
Posted 24 February 2007 - 02:11 PM
She was apologetic about the squid shot on that site, but hasn't responded yet to me finding the two on her Photobucket site. Pretty sleazy...
The link to the shrimp is down, but FWIW you can also try this.
http://photobucket.com/copyright.php
