Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Boosting Dynamic Range


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 20 February 2003 - 10:41 AM

Has anyone tried this? It's a quote from DPreview.com again:

Great photos,...and extreme dynamic range. One thing I do when I have this much DR, (and this is really for those concerned with "sucking" detail, even when it is not artistically required...but let's not get into that discussion), is I transfer the RAW file as shot, then transfer the same shot with exposure compensation slider 2 stops under, then do same with slider 2 stops over. Then layer these 3 tif files, and adjust transparency on the over and under layers, (and maybe erase portions) This extends the already 5-6 stops of DR to about 10.


Obviously that's a lot of work but it might be worth it for a few of those underwater shots.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#2 scorpio_fish

scorpio_fish

    Orca

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 20 February 2003 - 11:00 AM

I've used Fred Miranda's action. It was cheaper than me learning how to do layer masks myself. It works, usually. It can do some wierd things when the brightest area is next to the darkest area.

Somehow adding subtracting 2 stops seems like an awful lot.
"Me, fail English?.........Unpossible!"

#3 craig

craig

    Full Moon Rising

  • Super Mod
  • 2826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 20 February 2003 - 01:42 PM

Sure seems like something that could be done more directly (and faithfully) with curves. Since it's the same shot you don't actually have any "extra" data or DR.

Miranda's action is the right way of course, you but you need to take multiple shots. You can fake it like described. An interesting exercise would be to try the described way, then try to duplicate it directly with curves. I'd do it but I didn't buy that particular action.
I love it when a plan comes together.
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith

------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries

#4 bobjarman

bobjarman

    Manta Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 20 February 2003 - 01:53 PM

I might try that for kicks on some land shots I have. but the main issue I have is usually have is blown out highlights, and there aint no amount post shooting exposure comp that will fix that. :unsure:

#5 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 20 February 2003 - 01:56 PM

So just dial in -1 EV then Bob and correct your exposure when you process your RAW image...:-)

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#6 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 20 February 2003 - 02:39 PM

Try that new Velvia 100 Bob!!!

#7 bobjarman

bobjarman

    Manta Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 20 February 2003 - 03:51 PM

I plan on trying a ton of it in Belize!

#8 Cybergoldfish

Cybergoldfish

    Sperm Whale

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1954 posts
  • Location:UK */Seychelles/Singapore
  • Interests:Don't include plankton

Posted 20 February 2003 - 03:59 PM

Great, we can start our own Velvia 100 photocomp. Maybe let Scotty in on it too!