• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 greenday61

greenday61

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 07:56 AM

This is my first post.....and I'm new to this very helpful forum.

I am in the market for my first DSLR underwater rig. The only commitment I have made is that I own a Nikon D200 w/ a 12-24, and a 60 mac. This basically leaves all other options open for acquisition of my system. I have used point and shoots quite a bit and have gotten satisfactory results. I recently sold my Sea&Sea DX-8000G...I have enough experience to be dangerous..and i want to continue my journey to the next level(s)...avoiding as mant pitfalls as possible. My budget is flexible as I just sold a couple expensive non-related toys.....I don't want to say unlimited because it's certainly not BUT I'm willing to invest what's needed and grow into the system.

My next trip is in late May so my timeline is to own the rig ASAP and allow enough pool time prior.

areas of concern:

ports....start w/ both dome and macro?

strobes ....one or two to start?

TTL....yes or no...leaning no

expensive viewfinders?....I defintely have middle aged eyes

Housings.....all examined topside

I handled aquatica......liked it especially the viewfinder

Subal....worth the premium?

SeaSea...viewfinder didn't work as well for me

Any input on this sickness from the experienced would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Tom G

#2 greenday61

greenday61

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 08:06 AM

Maybe I should have posted this to the gear forum but although I've used point and shoots a considerable number of dives, I very much consider myself a beginner !

Thanx!

Tom G

#3 RickM

RickM

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 21 March 2007 - 08:22 AM

Welcome to the addiction! And you said the magic words, "My budget is flexible as I just sold a couple expensive non-related toys"