• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 nopro

nopro

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 26 posts

Posted 30 May 2007 - 06:15 PM

I've been an avid amatuer photographer since the days of bw labs in my basement. This might give you an idea why I have bi-focals in masks. I converted to a Canon digital rebel XT and an XTi for above water shooting. I currently use a Sealife DC-500 underwater. I find it to limiting in both pixels and battery capacity. I dive lots of cold dark Pacific Nowthwest water. Even on warm water boat dive one battery is only good for the first dive. I'd love to get an Ikelite housing for my 400D and enjoy the freedom. The only concern is the viewfinder. Would I be better to get a Canon G7, Nikon Coolpix P5000 or something in that range instead?

I understand every diver is different but would like to enjoy better underwater shots for the few years of diving I still have. (first dive was in 1967)

I would love to hear from divers who can raelly guide my upgrade.

#2 Rocha

Rocha

Salty Dog

• Senior Moderator
  • 3073 posts

Posted 01 June 2007 - 05:46 PM

You should also check the new Olympus with live LCD preview...

The biggest disadvantages of point and shoots are their shutter lag and short battery life, but they now have great image quality.

Luiz

P.S.: I am moving your post to a more appropriate area...

Luiz Rocha - www.luizrocha.com
Nikon D800, Aquatica AD800, Ikelite strobes.

#3 Islandbound

Islandbound

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 321 posts

Posted 01 June 2007 - 07:45 PM

A huge advantage of a PNS over a DSLR is the video capability. Most have 640x480 at 30fps and some like the G7 have 1024 @ 15fps. Thats good enough to frame grab and print 4x6 from which is nice when your trying to catch fast movers like octopus,cuttle or little fishes etc that wont slow down.