7 replies to this topic

#1 bwdiver

bwdiver

Starfish

• Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 26 July 2007 - 10:56 AM

Well,
After lingering in these forums for quite some time (great forum by the way), I have decided to upgrade to a new Gates housing for my Sony HDR-FX7. To say that I am an amateur would be an understatement, but my wife bought me the camera for my birthday so I figured what the heck.
My big hang up now are lights. I have read quite a few of the posts regarding lights but none of them seem to be specific to this housing.
I am trying to decide between the Niterider Pro 40 and Green Force 250 set ups. Does anyone have much experience with either of these and is there possibly someone that has already bought this housing and are using either of these lights. Joe at Marine Visions has been really helpful so far, but I wanted to get more than one persons opinion. It's a heck of a lot of money so I want to make sure I am going to be happy with it.

Also, if I get the Green Force 250 video lights, Joe has given me the choice of one large Pelican case or two smaller ones. In terms of travelling which would be better?

Any help would be great.

Billy W.

#2 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 26 July 2007 - 11:43 AM

Big congrats on your wonderful present. Your wife must be saint, she could have bought herself a load of bikinis but she sacrificed them for your cam. ;-) And welcome to wetpixel, a great place to share and learn.