• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Dan Schwartz

Dan Schwartz

Sting Ray

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Interests:NASCAR & IndyCar photography; large format photography; wet darkroom work. Getting ready to drag my gear underwater...

Posted 15 October 2007 - 11:58 AM

Hello from Sayreville, in the central part of The Peoples' Republic of New Joisey!

I'm an Electrical Engineer; and I moonlight as a professional photographer covering IndyCar & the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series; and on occasion I shoot Bar Mitzvah's & weddings with my Speed & Crown Graphic 4x5 press cameras. I also provide tech support to photo labs, graphics/prepress shops, and increasingly to photo studios as they transition to the digital imaging workflow.

I stumbled across this website while searching for underwater medium format gear for an acquaintance who introduced me to underwater macro photography at his NYC gallery exhibit two years ago. This gentleman's work with an F4 was spectacular as it was; but when he saw what a 6x45 frame can produce when blown up to 30x40 inches (like my friend, Lisa Fiel, produces with her Mamiya 645AFd), he asked me to "look around."

Yes, although some of the 39 megapixel images from an H3D-II look pretty good, there's just no substitute for shooting film if you can control what happens in the processor & enlarger: I've been using Photoshop since v2.51 in 1994, and I use an S2 Pro as my "point & shoot;" but you'll have to pry my Jobo ATL-3 from my cold, dead fingers! :)

Anyway, I've gone on a couple of resort dives when I was at my parents' timeshare down in Grand Cayman (in fact, they are down there Right Now); and I thoroughly enjoyed it.