• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DaveH

DaveH

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 12 April 2003 - 03:48 PM

I intend to house my Fuji S2 and need advice about housing options. I have prevously used Nikon 601/Ikelite MD, F4/Aquatica, Canon G2/Ikelite, and Nikon RS setups, so I am somewhat familiar with the characteristics of these combinations. I have no experience with other housing manufacturers but would like to learn about them before making another housing purchase.

I do a lot of Macro shooting, and have enjoyed using 2X multipliers in the past. Any advice about housing options would be appreciated.

Cheers,

Dave Harrison

#2 marriard

marriard

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 295 posts

Posted 12 April 2003 - 06:49 PM

Right now there is only one real option on the market - and that is the Ikelite housing. Well priced and reasonable quality. It is a little bulky, and it has it faults, but over all a really nice housing that I have had great success with.

Seacam released a housing, but availability is debatable (expect 3 months lead time minimum for delivery, possibly more). Also we are talking huge $$$ - $3000+ for the housing alone. It is a piece of art posing as a housing. High quality, optical glass ports ($1000 for a dome port), but unreasonable for digital when you could consider the speed things upgrade. Could justify it for film when it was likely I could use the housing for a few years, but not when I expect to upgrade within a year or two.

There is at least two or three housings not too far away. Aquatica is getting closer from all reports and is defineltly making a housing and there is still rumours that maybe Subal or Nexus may still make a housing.

The Sea & Sea housing will be no better than the Ikelite, but will have a larger price tag, so unless you already have Sea & Sea ports I would probably avoid it.