8 replies to this topic

#1 Ron Boyes

Ron Boyes

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 127 posts

Posted 20 April 2003 - 09:22 PM

This is my first post so be gentle.

I have a D100 camera and about to purchase the 70 - 180 and the 12-24 (when available).
So far my decision will be to go with the Subal housing - this is because I have been using the Subal CP5 housing for a couple of months and the support from the Subal dealer has been fantastic.
I do own a F90x in a S&S housing with 20,60 & 105 lens.

My questions are:
1. Are the zoom lens for the D100 the best way to go?
2. I have a 512Meg Scan disk - I was thinking of purchasing the Luxor as I hear it is a lot faster writing the RAW files.
3. White balance - do you recommend to shoot auto and then adjust using Nikon Capture 3 software?
4. Is their a prefered setup for the D100 for underwater work? WB,Metering etc.

I am sure I will have a load more questions when I get the housing.

Thanks
ron

Images Downunder
Ron Boyes
http://www.imagesdownunder.com.au
Nikon D2X - Subal Housing
Lens:70-180mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm & 10.5mm
Strobes: SB800 Inon Z220 x 2

#2 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

The Doctor

• Super Mod
  • 8376 posts

Posted 21 April 2003 - 04:45 AM

Hi Ron,

I use a Subal D10 and think it is fabulous. My favourite lenses with it (when I used it in Grand Cayman - lens choice depends on subjects available) were 16, 28-70, 60. I also used 105 and 17-35. Considering you already own 60 and 105 the merits of the 70-180 are questionable. With the effective increase in focal length of lenses caused by the smaller than 35mm CCD of the D100 I think the 105 gives you all the magnification you'll ever need.