D100 and Aquatica Housing

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 jimbo1946

jimbo1946

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 638 posts
  • Interests:Scuba, UW photography, land photography, reading, driving my wife/dive buddy nuts!

Posted 24 April 2003 - 10:13 AM

Howdy! I'm a first-time poster, so please forgive me if this has been discussed before.

A little background: I have been doing UW photography since 1987, first with a Nikonos V and more recently with a Nikon N90s in an Aquatica housing. I love the Aquatica/N90 setup, but it's time to move on to digital.

I now have a D100, with an Aquatica housing on the way. I hope to check it out on Little Cayman in three weeks. I have two questions, one about the ports and one about the strobe.

1. I have an 8" dome port for the Aquatica. I have a Nikon 20 mm lens that I have not used in the housed system, but I expect it to do fine. However, with the D100, the 20 mm becomes 30 mm, which is certainly not a very wide angle lens underwater. My wife recently surprised me with a Nikon 14 mm AF lens. This is a big lens both in length and diameter. I think that I can make this lens go through the housing and port opening, but it almost touches the dome port. I assume that I need a port extender, but which one? I asked Helix, but they said that no port extender is needed. The lens/port chart shown on the Aquatica website doesn't show this lens, only a Sigma 14 mm lens which does need an extender. Has anyone used the Nikon 14 mm AF lens in an Aquatica housing, and if so, which port extender is appropriate?