15 replies to this topic

#1 Ron Boyes

Ron Boyes

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 127 posts

Posted 07 May 2003 - 05:27 PM

Hi All,

Well I have taken the plunge and will get my Subal D10 housing tomorrow - as I am goining on a dive trip in 2 weeks I would like to get this system up and running, unfortunately I am not able to do any test dives prior to leaving.

I shall be using the following setup.
D100
Subal D10 Housing
70-180 Lens
SB80DX in a Subal SN80D housing.

I am totally new to the D100 and would like your advice and recommendations on the following.

Mode - P,A or S
Metering ?

Anything else that you feel will help me get up to speed quickly.

thanks
ron
Ron Boyes
http://www.imagesdownunder.com.au
Nikon D2X - Subal Housing
Lens:70-180mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm & 10.5mm
Strobes: SB800 Inon Z220 x 2

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 07 May 2003 - 05:39 PM

Hi Ron,

Good to hear that you've "taken the plunge." Have you used a housed SLR before? This question worries me: "Mode - P,A or S?"

With the 70-180 Macro lens, you should be shooting in manual mode with your shutter speed set to 60, 90, 125, or 180. I would start with 1/125h. Start with F22 and your strobe on TTL and take some test shots to see if your strobe is powerful enough. If it's putting out a full dump and your shots are still underexposed, then switch to f16 or f11. You should experiment with varying your Fstop and strobe power (take the strobe off TTL if you can) to get good exposures. You will be able to get some good shots using TTL on the SB80DX so I'd start there and experiment as you get the hang of it.

Metering - your camera won't use the meter when you are shooting in M. If you shoot in A then I'd set it to center weighted for macro.

Good luck!

James Wiseman
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 davephdv

davephdv

Doc Eyeballs

• Senior Moderator
  • 2285 posts

Posted 07 May 2003 - 06:21 PM