34 replies to this topic

#1 Halabriel

Halabriel

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 147 posts

Posted 02 May 2008 - 04:49 AM

Hi all

This is a spin off from the Setting White Balance topic. When I was reading through that thread, I wanted to know more about how best to get it right. I am a keen novice in the U/W photography game. I am just past the point and push stage, but not yet up to the DSLR knobs and whistles stage; I have a P+S with an external Inon strobe (although the temptation to DSLR is enormous) and I shoot almost exclusively in blue waters.

So now I have a question in three parts...

PART 1
Really aimed at Alex, but all comers welcome.
I have just read through Alex Mustards article in UwP 42 entitled "Strobes and water colour". My distillation of understanding runs like this....
  • P+S cameras assess the white balance of the picture and set it for you.
  • If you add a cool (Inon) type strobe, the camera will compensate the foreground - which makes the background less blue (more green).
  • If you add a warm (Subtronic) type strobe, the camera will compensate the foreground - which makes the background more blue (less green).
  • You can compensate for this with filters, for my Inon, adding a 1/8 CT straw lighting gel.
This part of the question is really about filters I suppose. Inon make several types of diffuser for their strobe, essentially white or blue. The blue obviously won't help, but the marketing spiel for their white diffuser says "-0.5 White Diffuser allows the strobe beam angle to widen from a circular 100 degrees to 110 degrees and the quality of light and shadows become softer. " Does this actually change the temperature of the light? Would I need to add a gel to this?