• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MatthewAddison

MatthewAddison

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 272 posts

Posted 30 May 2008 - 09:42 AM

I have been shooting the Sea & Sea MDX D3 for two months now and was wondering if there are other users out there with whom I can share experiences, specifically shooting wide angle.
I would love to hear what others are doing, as I am having some difficulties with corner sharpness using S & S ports with rectilinear lenses.
Specifically, using factory recommended set-ups for the Nikkor 14mm & Nikkor 17-35, minimum acceptable aperture seems to be f14-16 which seems rather odd. I am wondering if this is partly due to the fact that the D3 is a FF chip and I am seeing things I didn't in the D200. I'm using the S&S fisheye dome.
Nikon D3, S&S MDX-D3, S&S YS250 (2), Inon 45 viewfinder, ZEN underwater dome, 14mm, 17-35mm, 60mm, 110mm.
Outfitted courtesy of H2O Photo Pros - Newport Beach, CA
Visit My Website
Visit my educational not-for-profit foundation "saveourseas.tv"

A is A

#2 sgietler

sgietler

Tiger Shark

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 638 posts

Posted 30 May 2008 - 02:08 PM

I've taken mine on a few dives, used the 17-35 and 17-55, had great corner sharpness. I was using the new ultra-pricey large glass dome. I even got some good whale shots topside with the 200-400VR. I sent the photos in for publication and got a few calls back right away.

And then I woke up. sorry Matt! but I'm always here if you want to talk about the D300 in a S&S housing and the 10-17 :D

Scott

#3 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

The Doctor

• Super Mod
  • 8376 posts

Posted 30 May 2008 - 06:13 PM