Inon Z-240 in San Juan
#1
Posted 05 September 2008 - 07:34 AM
I am wondering if there is any connection with that discussion and the 2 Inon Z-240's that are 'nearly new' and for sale on ebay. Item 280263163358 on ebay is one of them. Searching for INON on ebay will show them.
The person doing the selling only copied and pasted website info for the description, which could imply knowing little about them.
The seller is only using numbers and is quite new to ebay.
Anyone care to share comments about their opinion of buying a Z-240 from that location?
I am interested in buying another Z-240 but certainly am not interested in supporting a certain black market segment.
dave
www.shiningseastudio.com
#2
Posted 05 September 2008 - 07:50 AM
http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=25553
It's up to people to circulate what's been stolen and help stop the cycle.
If you are worried, ask for the serials and ask Inon if they are reported as stolen.
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."
#3
Posted 05 September 2008 - 12:26 PM
Well I've started a thread for people who have had stuff stolen to list their items and serials.
http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=25553
It's up to people to circulate what's been stolen and help stop the cycle.
If you are worried, ask for the serials and ask Inon if they are reported as stolen.
Thanks for the serial number suggestion. I will ask about that. I generally will not buy expensive gear from someone on ebay with few previous entries, which applies to this offering.
www.shiningseastudio.com
#4
Posted 05 September 2008 - 02:53 PM
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#5
Posted 05 September 2008 - 03:26 PM
"perfect conditions,almost un-used....paypal only plase..... "
It looks very very suspicious, I wonder how we could get the police to look into this. The seller clearly knows nothing about this equipment.
scott
Underwater Photography Guide
#6
Posted 05 September 2008 - 07:34 PM
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."
#7
Posted 06 September 2008 - 06:13 AM
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
#8
Posted 07 September 2008 - 05:56 AM
Edited by scott_nielsen, 07 September 2008 - 05:56 AM.
#9
Posted 07 September 2008 - 10:12 AM
So my suggestion is for those who have lost any equipment to list their serials in the thread I've given for those who buy 2nd hand stuff online:
http://wetpixel.com/...showtopic=25553
Also send your list of lost equipment to TSA and the airline. That is the way to start claims. If you find your own items on ebay, report it to ebay under the fraud section. It'd help if you don't just report anyone you "suspect" of selling stolen goods because they live in SJ, PR. Otherwise, that'd be profiling.
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."
#10
Posted 07 September 2008 - 01:20 PM
I think a forum like this is the perfect place to bring this to the attention of our fellow photographers. Not everyone is experienced in buying on ebay and not everyone is aware of the things that have gone on at the Puerto Rico airports. And I seriously doubt we're the only ones talking about it.
http://www.underwatercolours.com
Skype address: underwatercolours
