Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

How to get this black background?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 heikokresslein

heikokresslein

    Damselfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Location:Germany, Hanau

Posted 02 May 2002 - 11:25 AM

Many Pics Iīve seen have a really black background. I donīt think that they all where taken at night, arenīt they? I alway use the automatik funktion with my Olympus 4040, what do i have to do to make such pics?

Thanks, Heiko

image

Wanna be BIG soon :)

[Edited on 2-5-2002 by heikokresslein]

#2 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 02 May 2002 - 01:06 PM

Hi there,

Set a fast shutter speed so that the only light coming to the CCD is from the flash. The flash illuminates stuff that is close and leaves a black background. Believe it or not, with a digicam, you can sync the flash with shutter speeds of 1/500 or even 1/1000!!!!!

Personally, I find a dark blue background to be MUCH more appealing. Kind of like my NikV shots.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 02 May 2002 - 01:11 PM

High shutter speed and open water behind the subject.
The high shutter speed cuts out the natural light,
and if there's nothing behind the subject to reflect
the strobe, you'll get a black background.

Shoot on manual mode and set the shutter to the
highest for your camera. Also close down the aperture
and turn up the strobe power as much as you can for
a proper exposure of the subject.

By the way, this will also cut down the natural (blue)
light. If you think your subject is coming out too blue,
this will help.

Herb
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#4 herbko

herbko

    Herbzilla

  • Super Mod
  • 2128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northern California

Posted 02 May 2002 - 01:12 PM

Hi James,

You beat me to the answer. Looks like I'll have to learn
to type faster :)

Herb
Herb Ko http://herbko.net
Canon 5D; Aquatica housing; 2 Inon Z220 strobes; Canon 100mm macro, 17-40mm ; Sigma 15mm FE, 24mm macro, 50mm macro

#5 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 02 May 2002 - 01:13 PM

Heh.

Boring day at work here...:)

James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#6 bobjarman

bobjarman

    Manta Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 404 posts
  • Location:Nashville, TN

Posted 10 May 2002 - 05:20 AM

Heiko, I will add to all the above that I dont think there is a lot you can do to make the image you posted have a black background.

As Herbko added earlier, you have to have open water behind your subject. I think, that in the image you attached, the background might be a bit to close to the main subject to get a black background. But a superfast shutter speed woill at least darken it. :)

Try a high shutter speed and a closed down apeture compination. the smallest opening (biggest number) you can get and still get flash exposure correct. You will get the benefit of greater depth of field and a shallower "exposed" scene.

Lovely thing about digital, you can take your camera underwater and practice a whole dive, try different setting and see how far you can venture from your subject before you lose the flash exposure.

Happy Diving!