• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Canuck

Canuck

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 423 posts

Posted 23 October 2008 - 09:46 PM

I just got back from 2 weeks in PNG. It was critter nirvana. I had high expectations for finding many of he cool subjects that I've seen from other photographers. I wasn't disappointed.

Every couple of year's Ed Robinson from Maui leads a dive trip to a world class destination. I have been diving with Ed's operation in Maui for more than 15 years. I joined his trip to the Solomon Islands in 2003, Palau in 2006, and PNG this year. Ed has many repeat customers on the trips, so it is always nice to renew old friendships.

After flights from Calgary to Los Angeles, then Brisbane, then Port Moresby, and finally Alotau, we boarded the bus for a 2 hour drive to nearby the resort. The rains had turned the road into a muddy mess. It was a little unnerving to drive by heavy equipment (including a grader) stuck in the mud, but we made it to the dock. The final leg of our journey to the resort was by boat.

Posted Image

We stayed at Tawali Resort near Milne Bay in PNG for the first few days of diving. The weather was overcast and rained off and on. The diving was still quite good, as long as we avoided the areas with surface runoff. We got in a few dives a day at the resort, then we then headed out on the liveaboard Spirit of Niugini. We dove up to 5 dives a day on the boat. My kind of vacation ... diving boot camp :). I managed 43 dives and over 53 hours underwater. I even took off a few dives at the end so I could recuperate for the long trip home. We went to lots of great muck sites. One dive was 123 minutes long! Another had a maximum depth of 12 feet. We also saw some beautiful reefs. Lots of variety.

I normally try to keep my galleries down to my "Top 40" shots. I couldn't do it this time. So I ended up posting 80 shots on my website. Here are a few of my favourites ...