Crinoid Fish Lighting

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 deepsea

deepsea

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Interests:Photography, environment, education, as much diving and in water time as possible. Swimming with Humpback Whales and much more.

Posted 13 December 2008 - 04:23 PM

I have tried many times to get a head on crinoid fish and this is my lastest

D70 Nikon 105mm
Fstop F20
Manual strobe on full, (only one strobe on top of the camera)

Ideas and comments appreciated. This is my first time here so I hope I uploaded everything okay.

Photo on Flickr
Nikon D200, Sea and Sea Housing, YS250 and YS90 strobes

Personal website http://beyondtheeye.ifp3.com

#2 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 3029 posts
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:05 PM

Hi Karen,
There are some very nice images on your Flickr page. Thanks for sharing. I love the whale breaching and the hairy pipefish.

Anything buried done inside a crinoid can be tough huh. I like your crinoid fish shot a lot. The only thing I might play with is the brightness of the arm heading down at 7 o'clock. I'm thinking if you toned that down a stop or two your little guy would pop more. Which tool are you using to process your images?

Cheers,
Steve

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr

Canon7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom

#3 deepsea

deepsea

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Interests:Photography, environment, education, as much diving and in water time as possible. Swimming with Humpback Whales and much more.

Posted 13 December 2008 - 10:40 PM

Hi Karen,
There are some very nice images on your Flickr page. Thanks for sharing. I love the whale breaching and the hairy pipefish.