• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 GoryachiyChai

GoryachiyChai

Hermit Crab

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 December 2008 - 08:46 PM

I'm new to underwater photography and just wanted some feedback to see how I'm doing and what elements I should be trying to improve on.

This picture was taken in Monterey, CA with a Canon A720 and internal flash. I cropped the image a bit and did a bit of color balancing in photoshop.

Posted Image

Thanks for the help!

#2 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 2987 posts
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 26 December 2008 - 10:07 PM

I'm new to underwater photography and just wanted some feedback to see how I'm doing and what elements I should be trying to improve on.

Hi,
Monterrey can be a tough place to shoot, so congratulations, especially new to U/W photos. These guys are really tough since their main job is to blend end to the surroundings. I find that divers and fish folks like images of invisible fish but most non-divers just find them kinda boring. Another thing you may or may not understand is that as the photographer your brain is filling in around the image and I believe adding color and texture to your perception that other folks won't see. Somebody will call me on this and I can't prove it scientifically but I believe it to be true. That's one reason it's hard for us to judge our own images.

Anyway I took a shot at playing with your cabazon. I brought the overall exposure up a little and brought down the exposure on his white face which was closet to the strobe. I think this makes him stand out a little more from the background. Try sharpening him a little too. I did a tighter crop and threw in a vignette around the frame to help him stand out a little more. See what you think.

Cabazon_mod.jpg

Welcome to Wetpixel!
Steve

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr