• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 glamourpuss

glamourpuss

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 31 December 2008 - 11:44 PM

i've been shooting underwater for about 4 months now, but i've mostly been sticking to macro and have been getting some good results. the other day i decided to try out a bit of wide angle stuff, and came back from 2 dives with a bunch of crap. i'd love some advice on how to get better results with only one strobe. (shooting a canon 40D, ikelite housing with one DS-125).

below is an example of the type of stuff i ended up with. on the left is the straight out of the camera shot... and on the right i have adjusted it a bit in photoshop. i didn't spend much time on this in photoshop... only a couple mins. could probably get it looking better, but i would like to learn what i should be doing underwater to get better results not how to improve it in photoshop.

this was taken at F8, 1/60, ISO 100
Posted Image

#2 glamourpuss

glamourpuss

Moray Eel

• PipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 03:59 AM

another example
(again a couple of quick adjustments in photoshop, but help me improve the original)

Canon 40D, ikelite housing with one DS-125
F8, 1/60, ISO 100

Posted Image

#3 loftus

loftus

Blue Whale

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4571 posts

Posted 01 January 2009 - 05:21 AM

The first thing that is apparent to me is that the shots are underexposed, both the foreground and background (background not as bad in second pic).
Unlike macro, with WA you have to be considering both foreground (strobe) and backgound (ambient) exposures. Changing Aperture will affect both strobe and background exposure, changing shutter speed will only affect ambient exposure. Changing ISO will affect both.
In both shots the strobe appears under exposed - solutions are: Add a second strobe, get closer to the foreground you want to light, increase ISO, open up the aperture.