• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Digital Rookie

Digital Rookie

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 May 2002 - 09:39 AM

Several of you provided suggestions when I posted on the scubadiving bulletin board so I am sorry if I repeat myself here. I recently bought an Oly 4040. Am waiting for the Ikelite housing to arrive. Am still troubled by the strobe question. Have considered the DS-50, the DS-125 and the Sea & Sea YS90dx. The Sea & Sea sounds nice but I am not sure I want to be in manual all the time. I know the DS-50 doesn't have adjustable power in manual which is a downside but I am guessing that until I become more than a "Rookie" I won't be doing much of my shooting in manual mode. Then I hear that the DS-125 still has a few bugs to work out.

So, I finally think I am decided on the DS-50 and then I see that there is a remote sensor and a synch cord.....just another question.....

I am a relatively amateur photographer who has played around with film underwater point & shoots. My main interest is creating photographs and slide shows of trips I take.

Thank you for your help, suggestions and thoughts.

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 11 May 2002 - 10:23 AM

With your Olympus camera, you cannot use a 5-pin Sync Cord. You are limited to using the Ikelite Digital TTL sensor or the Sea and Sea with Fiber Optic Cable.

HTH
James Wiseman
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 Digital Rookie

Digital Rookie

Starfish

• Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 12 May 2002 - 08:11 AM