• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 fish

fish

Sea Nettle

• Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 03:17 AM

I am fairly new to underwater photography and started out with a Ikelite housing for my Canon 10D and a single DS-125 strobe. After 100+ dives of shooting I upgraded recently to the Ikelite 5D mark II housing and now Im cosidering a second strobe. So Im wondering if I should buy a second DS-125 or should I go for the DS-160?

I know I'll use it that much so I dont really consider the difference in price to be an issue. Im just wondering if I'll run into some problems using two different (1XDS125 and 1XDS160) strobes at the same time?!?

If you are willing to share your thoughts and experience on the matter I would appreciate it! :D
hreggi
www.hvitabirnir.is

Canon 5D mkII / 17-40mm F4 / 15mm 2.8 / 100mm 2.8 / Ikelite housing and strobe

#2 davephdv

davephdv

Doc Eyeballs

• Senior Moderator
  • 2291 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 06:56 PM

Read this thread

.125 vs. 160

It discusses the same topic.

Do a search of the forum and you will find more on these strobes.
Dave Burroughs, Nikon D300, D2X, Subal housing, DS160 strobes

Life is a beach and then you dive.

My Website

#3 ornate_wrasse

ornate_wrasse

• PipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts

Posted 26 February 2009 - 08:46 PM

To add another wrinkle to the mix, have you considered adding an Inon Z240 strobe instead of another Ikelite? When I had only one strobe, which in my case was an Inon Z240, and I discussed the issue of adding another strobe with Ryan at Reef Photo, he let me know that it was possible to add a strobe of a different brand, such as an Ikelite DS-125.

I'm guessing this wouldn't work if you have only one bulkhead connector, but if you have two, then I believe it can be done.

Ellen
D300, Subal housing, Focus Fix Light, Tokina 10-17mm, 60mm, Sigma 17-70, 105mm VR, Inon Z240 (2)

www.pbase.com/ornate_wrasse

#4 Balrog

Balrog

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 346 posts