Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Optical Flash housings for Nikon


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 DocTock

DocTock

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 03 March 2009 - 11:05 AM

Are there currently any housings for Nikon SLR that can optically trigger the strobes?
“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

#2 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:07 PM

Nexus, Sea and Sea, and Subal w/ a slight modification. Also some of the lesser known asian brands like Zillion, etc.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#3 craig

craig

    Full Moon Rising

  • Super Mod
  • 2826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:11 PM

Can Subal do it? Nikon requires the popup to be fully extended so it needs more clearance than Canon.

Seatool also supports popup flash.
I love it when a plan comes together.
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith

------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries

#4 TomR1

TomR1

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 571 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:25 PM

I have a seatool housing for my D-300. The housing provides space for the flash to popup and two holes for fibreoptic connections. I shoot the INON Z-240 in S-ttl mode and the results are fine. The only problem is remembering to pop up the flash. Fortunatelt Seatool provides a lever to do so.

#5 Ryan

Ryan

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1052 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:43 PM

Some additional clarification-

Sea & Sea only offers optical flash on RDX-D60 and MDX-D700.

Subal does not offer this on any housing. We've adapted some Subal for Canon housings to fire strobes optically, but can not modify the Nikon housings because Nikon requires the flash to be fully deployed to fire, and there is not room.

founder of Reef Photo & Video
manufacturer of Zen Domes

distributor of Nauticam in the Americas

 

n2theblue at reefphoto.com


#6 Deep6

Deep6

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 882 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Broomfield, CO

Posted 03 March 2009 - 12:54 PM

I have a seatool housing for my D-300. The housing provides space for the flash to popup and two holes for fibreoptic connections. I shoot the INON Z-240 in S-ttl mode and the results are fine. The only problem is remembering to pop up the flash. Fortunatelt Seatool provides a lever to do so.


My Nexus D80 does not have a lever for the pop-up flash. If I forget (and I do) to pop up the flash before closing the housing, I just set the mode to A and depress the shutter button. What follows is a reassuring "SWACK" when the flash pops up.
Bob

Carpe carp - Seize the carp


#7 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 03 March 2009 - 05:38 PM

Thanks Ryan - brain fart here.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#8 DocTock

DocTock

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 04 March 2009 - 07:10 AM

Thanks everyone!
Now that I know there is a D700 housing, I'm really torn with upgrading from a D80 to D700 vs D90, especially with my collection of pro film lenses...
“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine