Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

RAW to TIF.... Capture 1 or a PhotoShop plug-in?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 CDesperado

CDesperado

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Dallas Texas US

Posted 01 August 2003 - 07:35 PM

Is anyone using Capture 1 Limited Edition with a 10D?

I am _very_ unhappy with the RAW conversion program I picked up and am neutral on the software that came with the camera... I dont understand why some software has to make this so complicated - I just need to do some simple RAW > TIF conversions.

Just wondering if anyone is using Capture 1 LE. I can handle shelling out $100, but not $600. I will just have to be more patient with Canon's software or something.

How about Photoshop plug ins?

#2 Andi Voeltz

Andi Voeltz

    Eagle Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:Underwater Photography, Rollerblading, Swimming, Travel

Posted 02 August 2003 - 07:17 AM

Hi Chris,

I compared the two versions of Capture One and was resistant to their marketing :) ! The LE Version works great for our Canon 10D. But I have to state, that I never tried the Adobe RAW plugin. However We needed a fast tool, for thumbailing. Capture One LE is faster than BreezeBrowser, so I did not have to pick that one anymore. But I reccomend Downloader Pro B) It makes your life much easier!

All in all I am happy with CP ONE LE. It does everything I wanted and for heavy imaging I always turn on PhotoShop. So that is also a reason why I wanted to have a quick RAW Browser. The Loading time of Photoshop is just too long on my poor Celeron CPU System.

Actually is there already any other 10D shooter around? Would like to share so exp.
find a housing for your digicam! oOo. http://www.digideep.com .oOo.
market overview of the essential equipment for digital uw photography

#3 CDesperado

CDesperado

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Dallas Texas US

Posted 02 August 2003 - 09:53 AM

Yes... we are definitely in the minority with our 10Ds, but I sure do love my images and my Canon glass.

Does Capture One Limited Edition allow you to specify the ppi for the TIF file? I am _very_ frustrated with the software that came with the 10D because all of the RAW files I converted to TIFs are 180ppi. Although I can choose a higher ppi when moving from RAW to JPEG, I apparently cannot choose a different ppi when moving from RAW to TIF.



The Photoshop plug-in requires an update to version 7.0.1, which for some reason wont recognize the program (It's a known bug on Adobe's website, but the "solution" doesnt work either). I will look into the other product you mentioned... I have to find a solution soon.

#4 Andi Voeltz

Andi Voeltz

    Eagle Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:Underwater Photography, Rollerblading, Swimming, Travel

Posted 02 August 2003 - 12:52 PM

Downloader Pro is not an image Browser! It's a nice tool which will autmatically detec your camera/flashcard and help you sorting your images in. Concerning Capture One: Get the trial from phaseone.com
find a housing for your digicam! oOo. http://www.digideep.com .oOo.
market overview of the essential equipment for digital uw photography

#5 MikeO

MikeO

    Great White

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1025 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA, USA

Posted 02 August 2003 - 07:02 PM

Keep in mind that the Adobe RAW plugin, which now retails for $99 will be included in Photoshop 8.0. 8.0 is supposed to be hitting stores in a couple months . . .

Mike Oelrich
Canon EOS 40D in Seatool housing, 100mm macro, Tokina 10-17, INON Z-240s.


#6 Andi Voeltz

Andi Voeltz

    Eagle Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 366 posts
  • Location:Berlin, Germany
  • Interests:Underwater Photography, Rollerblading, Swimming, Travel

Posted 03 August 2003 - 03:33 AM

Keep in mind that the Adobe RAW plugin, which now retails for $99 will be included in Photoshop 8.0.  8.0 is supposed to be hitting stores in a couple months . . .

Yes, this was also the reason, why I did not want to invest in the plugin yet. I want to upgrade our Photoshop 6.0 to 8.0 and get it for free then. However the reason for a "slim" RAW browser/converter remains. And I h ave found nothing better than CP ONE LE. :ph34r:
find a housing for your digicam! oOo. http://www.digideep.com .oOo.
market overview of the essential equipment for digital uw photography

#7 CDesperado

CDesperado

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Dallas Texas US

Posted 03 August 2003 - 03:08 PM

In case anyone cares... Capture One makes me smile.

:)

Very, very big.

#8 AndreSmith

AndreSmith

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:British Columbia, Canada

Posted 01 September 2003 - 12:03 PM

I have also been trying out Capture One LE ( they give you a free 15day trial for the complete program) . I am very impressed and I will be buying it for sure. I like the batch conversion part were you can pool all your "developed " RAW files and then convert them all at the same time into whatever file , resolution and format you choose by a simple click. There is a great review at http://www.luminous-...pture-one.shtml.

If you are looking for a simple viewer of yor RAW files, I was surprised to see that ACDSee 5.0, a very simple, cheap and easy to use program, opens all your RAW files very quickly for convenient viewing. As a matter of fact it does open the RAW file of each image as well as a small .THM image of the same file - presumably the embedded JPG file. You can edit these .THM pictures but note that you can not edit the RAW files or convert them to other formats in this program. But I think it will be useful say after a dive when you want to quickly view your RAW images and delete the obvious discards. It is certainly way faster then FileViewer and ZoomBrowser EX that came bundled with 10D which take forever to open the RAW files if you want to see them in a decent size.

#9 Sydney

Sydney

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 12 September 2003 - 03:20 PM

A plug for Adobe PS RAW plug-in.
I bought it because anything that allows me to capture all my data and retain it in 16-bit files is for me.
The plus I see in the RAW plug-in is this...
I never put my files into TIF format but keep them all as psd's and print directly from PS. - Otherwise there is a shift of color going to TIF files.
I can make a number of changes to the image while it's still in 16 bit mode (levels curves, etc.) and then when I do convert to 8-bit for more detailed changes I DO NOT loose image data -- no white lines through the histogram.
I'm hooked on PS image management tools so with RAW I still use all the image management that PS has to offer - only one learning curve.
In my opinion Adobe knows more about image/photo management for all their years of experience than the other companies who are writing the conversion software.
Thus I use RAW plug-in.
Sydney (aka Lori)

#10 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 15 September 2003 - 06:35 AM

Hi Guys,

Check out Thom Hogan's RAW converter pros and cons comparison chart. He sums up his thoughts nicely.

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org