Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

EOS1Ds by Seacam


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 StephenFrink

StephenFrink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Key Largo, Florida Keys

Posted 13 August 2003 - 11:49 AM

We are pleased to announce the first Seacam EOS1Ds housings are beginning to arrive in US from Austria. For a quick look see:

http://www.stephenfr.../inc-eos1ds.php

Stephen Frink
Stephen Frink - www.stephenfrinkphoto.com
Publisher - Alert Diver Magazine
Distributor/North America - Seacamusa.com
Travel - Waterhousetours.com

#2 craig

craig

    Full Moon Rising

  • Super Mod
  • 2826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 14 August 2003 - 12:51 AM

I'll get this added to the news section as soon as the server will let me. Sorry for the delay.
I love it when a plan comes together.
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith

------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries

#3 wetpixel

wetpixel

    Wetpixel

  • Admin
  • 2943 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 07 September 2003 - 10:13 PM

I spoke with someone who owns a Seacam 1Ds housing today, and he informed me that it is impossible to change ISO given the controls in the housing.

I change ISO a lot while underwater. I'm wondering why this was left off of the housing. How many of you out there also change ISO while underwater?

UPDATE -- you CAN change ISO. My source was incorrect.
Eric Cheng - Administrator, Wetpixel -

#4 Chris Bangs

Chris Bangs

    Sting Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • Location:Japan/Guam

Posted 08 September 2003 - 01:48 AM

Having the ability to change ISO was a major factor in my digital conversion.

For super macro this will be a wonderful feature. I also do a lot of "deep" tech diving and I think this feature will also be quite helpful.

I am still a digital infant and I do have a question, how does a ISO change affect a digital image. Is there some quality loss as you use higher ISO settings.

Chris
Nikon D70s,Fuji S2, And Misc Nikon/Nikonos film gear collecting dust.
Ikelite and Aquatica Housings
Nikon 12-24 mm, 10.5 mm, 16 mm, 60 mm, 105 mm, 200 mm micro. Sigma 14 mm. + stacks of diopters and teleconverters
Many outdated flashy thingys with aluminum tinker toys to connect them to the cameras.

#5 Kasey

Kasey

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Location:USVI

Posted 08 September 2003 - 02:12 AM

I've never used this function. My D100 starts at ISO 200 and I always use this underwater. I think that your ISO choice depends mostly on the depth at which you'll be diving, so pick your ISO based on your dive plan. Shouldn't be a big loss. For deep tech diving however, I guess you might want to lower ISO as you ascend and kill time at your safety stop. Of all the important features this one wouldn't concern me.
Seacam F100;D2x; 60mm;105mm;16mm;17-35; 10.5mm;12-24mm
Sea & Sea strobes
www.underthecaribbean.com

#6 tshepherd

tshepherd

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 880 posts
  • Location:Westfield, NJ, USA

Posted 08 September 2003 - 04:31 AM

I change it constantly based on conditions. I've found times when I've gone through most of the range on a single dive. While I agree with Kasey that you should set it based on your dive plan, but I've run into a number of places where it's not as simple as that. Deep tech diving is definitely a good example. I could probably live without it if I needed to, but I can't see why it would have been left off as Eric said.

#7 scorpio_fish

scorpio_fish

    Orca

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1413 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, TX

Posted 08 September 2003 - 05:41 AM

I never change the ISO. I find it an unnecessary chore. I find that up to ISO 400, noise levels are quite acceptable. Since the D100's lowest setting is 200, it's a one stop change, a parameter more easily done via shutter speed or aperture. If I still need more, chances are it's a lousy shot anyway, like shooting down the wall. For macro, it doesn't matter at all since its flash controlled anyway.

Us former film people who've shot Velvia/Provia are amazed at the flexibility gained by ISO 200. The one or two stops gained even at ISO 200 allows a much better range of apertures.
"Me, fail English?.........Unpossible!"

#8 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9969 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 08 September 2003 - 06:06 AM

I change ISO underwater pretty regularly between 100, 200 and 400. It's great to have if you jump in and then it gets cloudy when you are shooting wideangle with not that much available light. Sometimes there is no other way to get a stop or 2 other than changing ISO.

When I dove the Yukon in San Diego for the first time, I had NO idea what the conditions would be like, so I just jumped in, hit the bottom, and then set my ISO accordingly (to 400 on that dive).

HTH
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org

#9 craig

craig

    Full Moon Rising

  • Super Mod
  • 2826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 08 September 2003 - 06:18 AM

I've never done it intentionally! (Never enable auto-ISO on your D100!)

I could see certain approaches that might favor changing ISO but haven't done so myself. I'm surprised that it was left off. On the D100 you can set ISO directly through the function/command controls or you can do it in the menus. Perhaps you could do the same on the 1Ds?
I love it when a plan comes together.
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith

------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries

#10 wetpixel

wetpixel

    Wetpixel

  • Admin
  • 2943 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 08 September 2003 - 09:07 AM

The 1Ds has explicit ISO change buttons you have to press -- can't do it through the menus.

I regularly change ISO if clouds move in, or on those dives closed to dusk when light can change a lot from the beginning to the end of the dive.

I'm talking about IS0 100 and 200 -- and very rarely 400. But the point is that it is a part of the way I shoot, and leaving it off of a housing is a major thing for me, and others who shoot the same way.

Having a minimum ISO of 200 changes things. It's less rare that I push past 200, so it might be ok for cameras who don't go below 200...
Eric Cheng - Administrator, Wetpixel -

#11 Kasey

Kasey

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Location:USVI

Posted 08 September 2003 - 04:23 PM

so eric... what are you taking underwater these days? have you relapsed to the D60 for now?
Seacam F100;D2x; 60mm;105mm;16mm;17-35; 10.5mm;12-24mm
Sea & Sea strobes
www.underthecaribbean.com

#12 wetpixel

wetpixel

    Wetpixel

  • Admin
  • 2943 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 08 September 2003 - 04:55 PM

Relapsed? from what? I've always been shooting the D60...
Eric Cheng - Administrator, Wetpixel -

#13 marriard

marriard

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 295 posts
  • Location:Somewhere with Diving, Asia-Pacific

Posted 08 September 2003 - 07:03 PM

I change ISO a lot while underwater.  I'm wondering why this was left off of the housing.  How many of you out there also change ISO while underwater?

I have changed ISO on dives where I am shooting wide angle and the conditions are bad or change significantly. For whatever reason I find it easier to control my blue backgrounds in a slightly higher ISO mode - probably physological but whatever works right? :-)

I don't do it every dive or even regularly, but it is certainly a feature I like and use on the housing I currently use.

M

#14 Kasey

Kasey

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Location:USVI

Posted 09 September 2003 - 02:08 AM

Relapsed? from what?  I've always been shooting the D60...

I thought you'd sold off your D60 and housing, but now I remember that you just switched housings. Your Great White shots are 1st class! You may have another mag cover in that batch.
Seacam F100;D2x; 60mm;105mm;16mm;17-35; 10.5mm;12-24mm
Sea & Sea strobes
www.underthecaribbean.com

#15 tshepherd

tshepherd

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 880 posts
  • Location:Westfield, NJ, USA

Posted 09 September 2003 - 04:46 PM

Eric, I've got to say, it feels like there's a 1Ds housing in your not so distant future...

:)

#16 craig

craig

    Full Moon Rising

  • Super Mod
  • 2826 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted 09 September 2003 - 05:06 PM

Relapsed? from what?  I've always been shooting the D60...

I think he was talking about the mandatory 12-step program for Canon users. :)
I love it when a plan comes together.
- Col. John "Hannibal" Smith

------
Nikon, Seatool, Nexus, Inon
My Galleries

#17 StephenFrink

StephenFrink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Key Largo, Florida Keys

Posted 09 September 2003 - 09:00 PM

I've asked Austria for clarification on the ISO control issue and will advise once I hear back. Just back in town myself.

Steve
Stephen Frink - www.stephenfrinkphoto.com
Publisher - Alert Diver Magazine
Distributor/North America - Seacamusa.com
Travel - Waterhousetours.com

#18 wetpixel

wetpixel

    Wetpixel

  • Admin
  • 2943 posts
  • Location:San Francisco, CA

Posted 10 September 2003 - 12:54 AM

Steve - the guy I know with a 1Ds tells me that it is just a labeling problem. The housing allows you access to both of the buttons you need to change ISO, but the housing itself is not labeled to tell you which buttons they are.

I think it unfamiliarity with the camera on his part. Sorry for the confusion!
Eric Cheng - Administrator, Wetpixel -

#19 Kasey

Kasey

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 710 posts
  • Location:USVI

Posted 10 September 2003 - 02:23 AM

Interesting thread nonetheless
Seacam F100;D2x; 60mm;105mm;16mm;17-35; 10.5mm;12-24mm
Sea & Sea strobes
www.underthecaribbean.com

#20 StephenFrink

StephenFrink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 713 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Key Largo, Florida Keys

Posted 10 September 2003 - 03:44 AM

Interesting perhaps ... Except for the unnecessary consternation it caused me :-).

Yes, between the instructions, and sometimes the labeling, you will be reminded English is a second language with Seacam products. However, our common language is photography, and that is spoken quite well.

Steve
Stephen Frink - www.stephenfrinkphoto.com
Publisher - Alert Diver Magazine
Distributor/North America - Seacamusa.com
Travel - Waterhousetours.com