Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Canon 5D Mark II HD Short Video


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 14 July 2009 - 05:04 AM

Depending on the scenes you film you should be able to get 50-60 minutes on a 16GB CF card.
This comes down to 3-4 minutes per GB.

I use the Sandisk Extreme III 16Gb cards and they work really nice. No need for the Extreme IV UDMA
version! At appr. 75 its the best bang for the buck :-)
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#22 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 14 July 2009 - 06:11 AM

Hi Christian
WOW 50 mins will be fine.
Got you PM and are downloading now for a look.

Hi Drew, hows things?
See you are hooked on it as well :-)
They are only going to get better.
Might also open up a whole new way in housing design too.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#23 TheRealDrew

TheRealDrew

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2856 posts

Posted 14 July 2009 - 07:19 AM

Depending on the scenes you film you should be able to get 50-60 minutes on a 16GB CF card.
This comes down to 3-4 minutes per GB.


But the clips are limited to 29 Minutes 59 Seconds, no?

#24 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:01 AM

But the clips are limited to 29 Minutes 59 Seconds, no?



Drew, that is the max size per clip. You can record several 30minutes or 4GB clips on one CF card if it fits.
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#25 TheRealDrew

TheRealDrew

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2856 posts

Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:12 AM

Drew, that is the max size per clip. You can record several 30minutes or 4GB clips on one CF card if it fits.



Cool that is what I thought, to me it was more theory than anything. The odds of me being able to pay attention to anything for almost 30 Minutes is rather low, difficult enough to try to pay attention for the length of a strobe going off :)

#26 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 16 July 2009 - 08:05 AM

Well thanks to Mary and Jim I got some longer bits of raw footage to play with, thankyou to the both of you. :)
Yes the footage looks pretty darn good alright. :)
The raw files played at full screen no problems.

Most of you are on MAC book pro's but I got a 17 inch PC equivalent with built in twin drives running EDIUS 5.10 on it.
I found that the reason I could not find the 1920/1080 30p setting before was because I was in a PAL project.
So I opened up a new 1920/1080 30p project and dropped the raw clips straight onto the timeline, hit play and away they went although not realtime, but not too far off.
You could scrub the timeline and do basic edits but its just all abit too sluggish to really work with.

So I right clicked on the files in the bin and converted them to the Canopus HQ codec which took about 1.25 seconds for a 1.07 length clip.
Then the clips played real-time, could even add a title plus colour correction with slow mo and they still played real-time.
Using a simple transition fade was fine and so were quite a few 3D GPU transitions.
The timeline would just slow down on the harder ones but it still played through.

I then encoded out some normal DVD spec files, Blu_ray, wmv and quick time ones.
All was pretty easy and rather quick to render out.
Out to a DVD spec file was about 1.1 speed.
I also clicked one button on the timeline to get a full size image grab, opened it up in Photoshop and you have an instant underwater image. :)
Playing those rendered out files all looked pretty good too.

So there you have it, on a simple $1800 AUD laptop running some NLE software, one can edit theses amazing quality files.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#27 Mary Lynn

Mary Lynn

    Video Expert

  • Moderator
  • 299 posts

Posted 16 July 2009 - 11:46 AM

Hey Wagsy!

Thank you for posting on what you discovered playing with the 5D clip in Edius on your PC! I had read that the Canopus HQ codec was good as an intermediate.

It's interesting to me that Canon chose to go only with 30p, and likely this will change in their future DSLR HD offerings. 25p and 24p options should be added, but we'll have to see what develops.

Can't wait to see where all this DSLR HD is heading, and thanks again for your testing and report!

Sure ought to be an interesting future...

Mary Lynn

#28 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10641 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 16 July 2009 - 12:01 PM

24fps should go the way of film. I'm waiting on 60P as standard. 30P is perfect for web but 25fps is needed for PAL land peeps who use 50hz lighting.

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#29 jonny shaw

jonny shaw

    Orca

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1315 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney

Posted 16 July 2009 - 02:09 PM

60p would be great, gives you a little room for slo mo etc. Would be good to have 50p for us in PAL land too.

www.ginclearfilm.com
www.facebook.com/ginclearfilm
GATES DEEP EPIC Based in Sydney


#30 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 17 July 2009 - 03:31 AM

Want Want Want... ha ha
No worries Mary, you know me I like to tinker.:-)

I dump the files in 25p timeline and they played just the same. Have to render out files from both and see if there is much difference. I also used the Canopus Lossless codec but files ended up being way too huge. Also the slow mo looked pretty good too. Have to render out some big files to look more closely.

Just funny that laptops can handle such files now days, makes the old cooling fans spin though.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au