• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 riodda

riodda

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 12:02 PM

Hi guys ! I'm Dario, from italy, this summer i will attend (if i manage to have some hollydays) my first scuba hollyday.
Since i'm a moderately out-of-water photographer my first thought was about photographic gear to go underwater, after being puzzled for some days about the different "not that expensive" solutions (good quality bag for one of my DSLR, plastic housing for my compact and used housing for my good old F4) i've decided to buy an used Nikonos V on ebay.
I got it quite cheap i think, about 150$ including shipment to italy, with the 35mm lens and in apparently good shape.
I also bought a set of orings.
And here are my newbie questions:

-I saw that the 28mm UW lenses are going quite cheap on ebay and since the 35mm lens is a amphibious lens i would like to know if it will worth to have the UW despite of the wider angle, it will be sharper than the 35mm ? Will the meter work also with the 28mm ?
-Since i will not go that deep i don't whant to spend money (yet! ) in a strobe and therfore i'm more focussed on filters, i would like to use an old cokin filter holder i have so the question is what filter i should bring with me ? I saw the magic filter but the are utterly expensive on my point of view.
-The Nokonos V meter is spot or a kind of avarage ?
-The standard Nikonos viewfinder what lens covers, ie if i buy a 28mm i should worry about the 28mm viewfinder ?
-If the orings show no cracks they need to be changed or it's enough to grease them ?
-What are the weak points of the V ? What should i really care about ?
-What meter battery life i should expect from the V ?
No more question up to now !!! Thanks !

If some what to have a look to some of my pictures can have a look on threk earth.
http://www.trekearth.../riodda/photos/

#2 ornate_wrasse

ornate_wrasse

• PipPipPipPip
  • 667 posts

Posted 21 July 2009 - 09:11 PM