#1 jordi

jordi

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 46 posts
  • Interests:photography

Posted 03 August 2009 - 11:28 PM

Hi all,

I am big fan of this forum and members like Drew, Camdiver, Echeng among other from who I learn a lot. But as I am new in UW video, I am still photographer, I am little bit lost with some of the terms you normally use (codecs, avi, 24 MBPS, interframe, etc). So I am looking for some book or online course or website where I can learn the basics, and then being able to join your discussions.

Any recomdation is welcome!

Thjanks in advance for your help

Jordi

#2 Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas

Humpback Whale

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2842 posts
  • Interests:filming/editing/exotic travel. l write reviews of editing software, books, tutorials and Mac based NLE related products for the www.kenstone.net and www.lafcpug.org sites as well as articles for Asian Diver Magazine and wetpixel. I am one of the founding members of the San Diego UnderSea Film Festival

Posted 04 August 2009 - 12:19 PM

What NLE are you using? Are you on a PC or Mac?
Steve

www.kenstone.net
www.lafcpug.org

Steve Douglas
steve-sharksdelight@cox.net

I have worked as an unpaid reviewer for the editing websites since 2002. Most all hardware and software is sent to me free of charge, however, in no way am I obligated to provide either positive or negative evaluations. Any suggestions I make regarding products are a result of my own, completely, personal opinions and experiences with said products.

#3 jordi

jordi

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 46 posts

Posted 04 August 2009 - 11:35 PM

Hi Steve,

I am a Mac user.

What's NLE?

Thanks

#4 jonny shaw

jonny shaw

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1315 posts

Posted 05 August 2009 - 12:42 AM

It stands for Non Linear Editing ... basically what editing software your using. So with your mac you will get imovie with it or you could but Final Cut Express or the full monty and go for Final Cut Pro.