• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ShadowDiver

ShadowDiver

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 19 posts

Posted 14 August 2009 - 05:45 PM

taking my Canon 5d Mark II under for the first time next week. i think i'm going to try some video. what do you folks think about:

Canon 5d Mark II
Canon 17-40mm
Ikelite housing
8in dome
Manual mode
shutter 1/60
aperture f8
autoISO
focus ~3 feet in front

i'll be in Cozumel, so i'm thinking of just drifting along. f8 for increased edge sharpness. 1/60 because NTSC. and let autoISO handle the exposure.

i have at my disposal magic-filter and a +2 diopter. i can try both of these. manual white balance on my silver Aqualung fins.

i'm a complete video newb. am i on the right track?
suggestions? thanks.

#2 AndreSmith

AndreSmith

Eagle Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 336 posts

Posted 14 August 2009 - 07:17 PM

taking my Canon 5d Mark II under for the first time next week. i think i'm going to try some video. what do you folks think about:

Canon 5d Mark II
Canon 17-40mm
Ikelite housing
8in dome
Manual mode
shutter 1/60
aperture f8
autoISO
focus ~3 feet in front

i'll be in Cozumel, so i'm thinking of just drifting along. f8 for increased edge sharpness. 1/60 because NTSC. and let autoISO handle the exposure.

i have at my disposal magic-filter and a +2 diopter. i can try both of these. manual white balance on my silver Aqualung fins.

i'm a complete video newb. am i on the right track?
suggestions? thanks.

I think you will get great results that way. I would perhaps just change the aperture to f11 and set an appropriate ISO to give you about -0.5 to -1.0 exposure. ( easily checked by half depressing the shutter in Live Mode ) Auto ISO doesnt give good exposure underwater in video mode . As long as the ISO required is less than 1600 it seems to be just fine. Just remember to reset your white balance for different depths when using a Magic Filter. Good luck. Looking forward to see your results!

#3 ShadowDiver

ShadowDiver

Damselfish