Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Mac OS X Snow Leopard compatibility with photo apps


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 30 August 2009 - 12:31 PM

Photographers looking to upgrade to Mac OS X 10.6 "Snow Leopard" should check to see if any of the applications they use have compatibility issues with the new OS. A good site that lists applications and compatibility is Snow Leopard Compatibility. In particular, photographers should note that Nikon doesn't recommend updating yet, and CaptureOne currently requires a workaround. Also, there were rumors that Adobe Creative Suite 3 (including Photoshop) wouldn't work on Snow Leopard, but those rumors have been debunked.
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#2 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

    The Doctor

  • Super Mod
  • 8376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough

Posted 30 August 2009 - 12:37 PM

Thanks Eric. I was reading your facebook posts with interest.

I had to order a new Macbook Pro last week (after the last one died) and I am hoping it comes with 10.5 as the OS (it said it did). Allowing me to upgrade after my Pacific Northwest trip - when everything has been debugged.

Alex

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).


#3 TheRealDrew

TheRealDrew

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2856 posts

Posted 30 August 2009 - 01:06 PM

Photographers looking to upgrade to Mac OS X 10.6 "Snow Leopard" should check to see if any of the applications they use have compatibility issues with the new OS. A good site that lists applications and compatibility is Snow Leopard Compatibility. In particular, photographers should note that Nikon doesn't recommend updating yet, and CaptureOne currently requires a workaround. Also, there were rumors that Adobe Creative Suite 3 (including Photoshop) wouldn't work on Snow Leopard, but those rumors have been debunked.


Thanks for the links. Usually I upgrade in steps, a non-critical partition on the laptop, then get used to it on the laptop, then I move the installs on. I think I have some non Universal Apps though I may need to hang onto that may not run in Snow Leopard (though I have not gone through all the specs on it yet I thought I came across that somewhere. Maybe just Rosessta being dropped?)

#4 segal3

segal3

    Powerful Sea Gull

  • Admin
  • 1739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Los Angeles, CA

Posted 30 August 2009 - 05:46 PM

You'd think Apple would've worked to make it easier for developers to access preliminary builds so all these issues could be resolved before the public release. ;) Looks like NTFS-write was taken out of the golden master, as well?

Could've used a few more weeks to polish...how long before a hotfix is issued? :D
Matt Segal - carbonos scuba

#5 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 30 August 2009 - 05:54 PM

The developer builds have been available. My apps have mostly been auto-updating. But I suppose it is not realistic to expect all of them to be ready...
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#6 JackConnick

JackConnick

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1247 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Sailing, diving, women, cats

Posted 30 August 2009 - 06:34 PM

I'm going to update the laptop Tuesday when OS10.6 arrives, then play with everything for a few days before updating the desktop. I'm running CS3.

Jack

Jack Connick
Optical Ocean Sales.com Sea & Sea, Olympus, Ikelite, Athena, Zen, Fix, Nauticam, Aquatica, Seacam, Gates, 10Bar, Light & Motion, iTorch/I-DAS & Fantasea Line - Cameras, Housings, Strobes, Arms, Trays & Accessories
Blog & Gallery: Optical Ocean Sales Blog
Flickr Gallerys: Optical Ocean on Flickr


#7 TheRealDrew

TheRealDrew

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2856 posts

Posted 30 August 2009 - 07:26 PM

I'm going to update the laptop Tuesday when OS10.6 arrives, then play with everything for a few days before updating the desktop. I'm running CS3.

Jack


Remember, SuperDuper or something else to have a full clone beforehand, just in case ;) (And deauthorize the hard drive for Apps like Adobe before updating)

#8 cor

cor

    The Hacker

  • Admin
  • 1993 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, Netherlands

Posted 30 August 2009 - 11:42 PM

It's a common rule of thumb in the IT industry. Dont upgrade to anything with a 0 in it ;) Im waiting for 10.6.1.
Cor Bosman - Nikon D2X Subal ND2 - Nikon D7000 Subal ND7000
website | tripreports/journal | facebook | wetpixel map | twitter


#9 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10642 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 31 August 2009 - 12:17 AM

Absolutely right. But I like to sacrifice for the greater good of computerdom since my sorrows will be tomorrow's lessons ;) And the beta version didn't suck when it was clean installed.
I'm absolutely sick of Adobe treating everyone like a criminal. I don't pay $1k for software that holds me at ransom everytime I do something.
Hmm Firefox just crashed on me while writing this. :D
I have to say with SSD and 64bit, my computer "feels" like it got a processor upgrade... until you actually do some serious crunching.

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#10 cor

cor

    The Hacker

  • Admin
  • 1993 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, Netherlands

Posted 31 August 2009 - 12:23 AM

Most of my friends have macs, and Im currently enduring their continuous complaining about 10.6 app and OS crashes. Im glad I didnt upgrade yet.
Cor Bosman - Nikon D2X Subal ND2 - Nikon D7000 Subal ND7000
website | tripreports/journal | facebook | wetpixel map | twitter


#11 dzwiad

dzwiad

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 31 August 2009 - 05:25 AM

I've upgraded on friday.
Using Snow leo on MBPro 2.2 with 4gb ram
and it feels much faster than leo
maybe it is just a feeling not the real improvement but it just feels this way.

I'm using Lightroom 2.4 and it opens faster.
No problems with Nikon transfer too.

Only iPhoto crashed 2 times since update.

I've felt a little bit uncomfortable updating to version with zero but my friend had build version and it worked nicely.

If something is wrong i can always reinstall Leo and use time machine backup.
But I would not upgrade my main work machine yet.

Only thing that was not nice is that they are selling only 1 machine version now there is no family pack yet

Edited by dzwiad, 31 August 2009 - 05:25 AM.

betweenblue.com

#12 davephdv

davephdv

    Doc Eyeballs

  • Senior Moderator
  • 2291 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Goleta CA

Posted 31 August 2009 - 01:14 PM

Was reading that not all Epson printers have updated drivers available. Particularly the 3800.
Dave Burroughs, Nikon D300, D2X, Subal housing, DS160 strobes

Life is a beach and then you dive.

My Website


#13 Alex_Mustard

Alex_Mustard

    The Doctor

  • Super Mod
  • 8376 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Peterborough

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:41 AM

Not yet compatible with Cooliris, which I have as a gallery option on some collections on my website. Update coming soon, apparently.

Alex

Alexander Mustard - www.amustard.com - www.magic-filters.com
Nikon D4 (Subal housing). Nikon D7100 (Subal housing). Olympus EPL-5 (Nauticam housing).


#14 danielandrewclem

danielandrewclem

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 380 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Massachusetts
  • Interests:writing, photography, fish

Posted 02 September 2009 - 10:25 AM

Only thing that was not nice is that they are selling only 1 machine version now there is no family pack yet


I got my family pack on the 28th. Maybe no family packs in Europe?
Flickr 5D Mk II & 20D | Ikelite

#15 CompuDude

CompuDude

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Location:Studio City, CA

Posted 02 September 2009 - 02:11 PM

Only thing that was not nice is that they are selling only 1 machine version now there is no family pack yet

They had family packs at the Apple store yesterday when I picked up my copy. I only bought for one machine, however, for now.

#16 dzwiad

dzwiad

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 02 September 2009 - 09:40 PM

In Poland they said that it will be in about 3 weeks so i bought single version.
betweenblue.com

#17 aczyzyk

aczyzyk

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 261 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted 03 September 2009 - 12:04 AM

They actually sold out single versions as well on Friday (in Poland).
I tried to get a copy on Monday in Warsaw with no luck :wacko:
Andrzej Czyzyk

www.flickr.com/photos/czyzyk/
D200, Sea&Sea DX-D200, Nikkor 10.5, Nikkor 105 VR, Tokina 12-24, 2xDS-125

#18 dzwiad

dzwiad

    Triggerfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poland

Posted 03 September 2009 - 01:07 AM

I bought my on 10:15 :wacko: my friend went to the same reseller 30 minutes after me and they were out of stock already
I think they just ordered only about a dozen.
It was the same with Leo after a 3-4 weeks they had both single and home versions in stock.

Bart
betweenblue.com

#19 TonySuber

TonySuber

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Location:Honolulu Hawaii
  • Interests:Underwater, surf, sports, and portrait photography. Reading, golf, bicycling and spending time with my red headed turtle!

Posted 05 September 2009 - 11:17 AM

If you use any of the OnOne plug ins, make sure to consult their website before upgrading -- essentially you deauthorize your computer, upgrade, then download their new installer/updater.

I inadvertently upgraded to Snow Leopard during Apple Store trouble shooting (long story, not really that funny either). Had read all the articles about CS4 and Lightroom not really having any issues but completely forgot about plug-ins. In addition to the OnOne issue, all the Kubota Image Tools now think they have been activated "on a different computer" since the Snow Leopard computer is "new" to them.

#20 cor

cor

    The Hacker

  • Admin
  • 1993 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Amsterdam, Netherlands

Posted 07 September 2009 - 08:21 AM

I upgraded afterall. Upgrade went smooth. But im keeping a full 10.5 backup handy :)
Cor Bosman - Nikon D2X Subal ND2 - Nikon D7000 Subal ND7000
website | tripreports/journal | facebook | wetpixel map | twitter