Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

doubt with cords


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 September 2009 - 01:04 AM

Recently I acquired two Sea&Sea 5-pin Strobe Sync Cord/N for my Nexus D80 with NCC V3.04 connector.
I have two Z240 strobes, and I have a doubt.
Can I shoot on TTL mode with this configuration or only manual ?
I have TTL insulation plates of Inon, but I donīt know if I have to use them or not, one or two ?
Can someone help me ?
Thanks,
Carmelo

#2 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 05 September 2009 - 07:04 AM

Does your housing have fiber optic ports? If so, think about using those vs sync cords. Pretty sure that will give you TTL. No electronics, no o-rings, no worries.
Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's

#3 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 05 September 2009 - 09:02 AM

Does your housing have fiber optic ports? If so, think about using those vs sync cords. Pretty sure that will give you TTL. No electronics, no o-rings, no worries.


Yes, I use them, but with the 10.5 fisheye, and buit in flash camera opened, its light gets into lens.
Optics works well with 60 & 105 mm.

#4 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 05 September 2009 - 09:48 AM

How do you have the on-board flash power set? On my D300 menu I can set flash to manual & power to various settings from full to 1/128th. I set to 1/100th with fiber optics. Maybe you can do same. This would minimize amount of light that might hit dome.

Edited by jcclink, 05 September 2009 - 09:50 AM.

Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's

#5 Gudge

Gudge

    Tiger Shark

  • Team Wetpixel
  • 531 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pottsville, NSW Australia

Posted 05 September 2009 - 02:45 PM

Yes, I use them, but with the 10.5 fisheye, and buit in flash camera opened, its light gets into lens.

I converted my Subal C40 housing to fibre optics last year using a kit from Reef Photo and Video. Part of the kit was a foam ring that goes around the lens that blocks the passage of light from the camera's flash to the port to prevent this sort of thing happening. It should be easy to make one up your self for your camera. Here's a photo:

Posted Image
Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D housing, 2 x Inon Z240, 1 x Inon S2000, Tokina 10-17 & 12-24, Sigma 17-70 Macro, Tokina 35 macro, Canon 60 & 100 macro, Tamron 2X & Kenko 1.X Teleconverters.

#6 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 12:30 PM

How do you have the on-board flash power set? On my D300 menu I can set flash to manual & power to various settings from full to 1/128th. I set to 1/100th with fiber optics. Maybe you can do same. This would minimize amount of light that might hit dome.


Hi jcclink,
I always use the on-board flash set to TTL mode, but I can set to manual & power settings from full to 1/128th too.
Does your external flashes work on TTL mode setting on-board to 1/100th ?
I tried this a long time ago but didnīt work.

#7 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 06 September 2009 - 01:14 PM

I always shoot in manual mode with S&S strobes with no TTL capability. But I've been told that the Z240's will work in TTL mode via fiber optics. Not sure about proper strobe setting for TTL thou - TTL or manual. My setting suggestion is for manual to conserve camera battery. I'm sure someone here has the answer.

Edited by jcclink, 06 September 2009 - 01:26 PM.

Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's

#8 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 01:14 PM

I converted my Subal C40 housing to fibre optics last year using a kit from Reef Photo and Video. Part of the kit was a foam ring that goes around the lens that blocks the passage of light from the camera's flash to the port to prevent this sort of thing happening. It should be easy to make one up your self for your camera. Here's a photo:

Posted Image


Thanks Gudge,
I had not thought of that possibility !
Iīll try it !

#9 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 06 September 2009 - 01:22 PM

I always shoot in manual mode with S&S strobes, so no TTL capability. But I've been told that the Z240's will work in TTL mode via fiber optics. On-board flash set to TTL I would think, but haven't tried it.



Question:
1/100th triggers the flashes and can shoot them to full ?

#10 jcclink

jcclink

    Great Hammerhead

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 736 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Diego

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:13 PM

Yes. My strobes are both set to slave. 1/100 power from on-board flash is enough to trigger the S&S strobes, which I can set any power I need (full to very low).
Nexus D300, 10-17mm, 12-24mm, 17-55mm, 60mm, 105mm VR
S&S YS110's & YS27's

#11 LyN

LyN

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 114 posts
  • Location:Barcelona, Spain

Posted 07 September 2009 - 03:51 AM

Hi jcclink,
I always use the on-board flash set to TTL mode, but I can set to manual & power settings from full to 1/128th too.
Does your external flashes work on TTL mode setting on-board to 1/100th ?
I tried this a long time ago but didnīt work.

If you want to shoot on S-TTL you need to put the internal flash in TTL mode. Here you can see the settings.
If you would rather shoot in manual or in external auto, you can set the internal flash to whatever, as the Inon will only use it as trigger sync.
Ikelite & D70s, Tokina 10-17, Sigma 14, Sigma 17-70 HSM, Nikkor 60, Nikkor 105, Tamron PRO 1.4x, Kenko PRO 2x, 2 x Inon Z240, ULCS
Oly 5050, UWL-100 w dome, UN PCU-01, Inon Z240, ULCS

My pictures

#12 carmelo

carmelo

    Starfish

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 October 2009 - 11:38 AM

I've finally built a plastic washer with an outside o-ring that not allows light through.
It works !
Thanks to all.
Carmelo