• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Turbo

Turbo

Clownfish

• Pip
  • 23 posts

Posted 07 September 2009 - 07:17 PM

hey guys im completely new to the whole idea of photo editing. i got the trial version on light room goin on and have been playin with it for the last couple days. ive read martin evenings book on lightroom2 however i am finding it very difficult to follow. i have watched various videos online and found them easy to follow but not very thurow. i currently just go throw the list of buttons and nobes and move each of them until the photo looks better

i need help with the whole developing process and have acouple question i was hoping the community here at wet pixels could help me anwser.

1) What is the difference between hues, saturation, and illumincence? (hsl\color\greytone tab)

2)in what order do you make the changes? (i am just starting at the top (whitebalance) and working down the the details tab)

3)whats the best way to sharpen the image?

4) what tools do you like best?

5) are there any books or articles about lightroom2 that portaine directly to underwater?

thanks guys any tips or hints or information and as to where i can find the information would be helpful.

#2 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

Humpback Whale

• 2985 posts
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 07 September 2009 - 10:22 PM

Turbo,
It's hard for anyone to top Martin's explanations. I'll try to give you a couple of pointers that work for me. Your approach of moving buttons until it looks better isn't as silly as it sounds. It a great way to learn once you have the basics down. My answers assume you're shooting RAW.