10 replies to this topic

#1 echeng

echeng

The Blue

• Admin
  • 5844 posts
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 22 October 2009 - 02:34 AM

Spammers have recently started using Wetpixel as a destination for marketing links by putting unrelated content in newly created users' forum profile pages. This means that a spam message blasted out in an email somewhere out there might contain a link to Wetpixel, which would unwittingly have become a host for spam content.

Note that none of this affects you, the Wetpixel user, the content you have posted on Wetpixel, or your private information. The only issue here is that spammers are using their profiles to host spam content. I have a plan to try to combat this new form of spam. I made some changes tonight that will hopefully help us to win the battle in the long run.

Posted Image
example accounts used to host spam

**Changes**:

• New members can no longer edit their user profile. This feature becomes unlocked after a new member's transition to a normal member.
  • BBCode, which is the language used to post images and links, is no longer allowed on profile pages. If you currently have BBCode on your profile page, it will still show up, but you will not be able to including BBCode if you modify it.
  • There is now a new, required anti-spam field in the registration area (only affects you if you're registering as a new member)
  • New users with "spammy" fragments in their usernames will be deleted automatically. If you're an established member with an unfortunate name, this will not affect you. However, new members with spammy names will find their accounts eradicated frequently (e.g. User "Mulva Nudesto" would be deleted for containing the word "nude").