Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Aquatica A7D housing for the Canon 7D


  • Please log in to reply
96 replies to this topic

#21 aussie

aussie

    Tiger Shark

  • Moderator
  • 544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GBR (Cairns), Australia
  • Interests:Diving - most weekends, music, photography

Posted 20 November 2009 - 04:37 PM

Jean, looks amazing, cant wait to get my hands on one!

Is there a button to hit the popup flash for when using optical fibres? Or is this something to remember when setting up the camera (and not something you'd want to forget!)?

Ryan.
Pedlow Photographics
My Flickr
On Twitter

Canon EOS 7D. Aquatica A7D. Inon Z240's. Canon, Tokina and Sigma glass.

#22 Viz'art

Viz'art

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 20 November 2009 - 04:56 PM

You'd want to remember to pop it up, :) but it shouldn't be an hassle if you have a preflight check list as one should and always test their strobe for firing prior to the dive as one always do.
Jean Bruneau / Aquatica Technical Advisor

www.vizart.ca

www.aquatica.ca

Aquatica Pro Digital housings for D-300s, AF 10-20mm, AF 10-17mm, AF 14MM, AF 17-35mm, af 17-70mm, AF 20MM, AF 60MM, AF 105MM, 2x Ikelite Ds 160, and TLC arms exclusively

#23 betti154

betti154

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 21 November 2009 - 12:59 AM

Ok, so you're telling me I can have it configured with Ikelite and the optic fibre bulkhead? Would that allow me to use a combination of strobes as I see fit, or perhaps future proof the housing.

Will one optic fibre bulkhead support two strobes?
Damien Siviero
Canon 5DmkIII + 7D. Aquatica Housing. Ikelite + Inon Strobes. Canon + Tokina Glass.
http://damiensiviero.com

#24 Viz'art

Viz'art

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 21 November 2009 - 09:22 AM

The Inon adapter can take two Optical Fiber, the Sea & Sea has a elbow type connector, so this later would be one per bulkhead, in essance you could have a Ikelite connector on one side from which you could run a dual cord and on the other side an optical port connector with the Inon cap and run two Inon strobes (or others with straight optical fiber cable).
Jean Bruneau / Aquatica Technical Advisor

www.vizart.ca

www.aquatica.ca

Aquatica Pro Digital housings for D-300s, AF 10-20mm, AF 10-17mm, AF 14MM, AF 17-35mm, af 17-70mm, AF 20MM, AF 60MM, AF 105MM, 2x Ikelite Ds 160, and TLC arms exclusively

#25 betti154

betti154

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 21 November 2009 - 01:05 PM

Jean,

Thanks for the info. Awesome stuff.

All I need now is a magic wand to convert my strobes into mega video lights mid way through a dive and I'll be set.
Damien Siviero
Canon 5DmkIII + 7D. Aquatica Housing. Ikelite + Inon Strobes. Canon + Tokina Glass.
http://damiensiviero.com

#26 pmooney

pmooney

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1229 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns Australia
  • Interests:Growing Grapes

Posted 21 November 2009 - 02:16 PM

Damo ,
Give me a few months.................

#27 aussie

aussie

    Tiger Shark

  • Moderator
  • 544 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GBR (Cairns), Australia
  • Interests:Diving - most weekends, music, photography

Posted 22 November 2009 - 12:12 AM

Jean, my original understanding (which I now think was mistaken), was that the optic fibre bulkhead was an exra one apart from the two standard Nikonos ones. Now I gather that I can only have one Nikonos and one optic fibre? Or can it use the one for the remote control or something?

I do like the idea of having access to both to use with my Inon strobes, particularly having TTL for shooting macro. Think this would be the way to go then?

And if ordering optic fibre bulkheads, do you have to specify whether it's for Inon or Sea and Sea?

I took my 7D for a dive today too, she's an impressive machine!

Ryan.
Pedlow Photographics
My Flickr
On Twitter

Canon EOS 7D. Aquatica A7D. Inon Z240's. Canon, Tokina and Sigma glass.

#28 serge

serge

    Sting Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NAD Lembeh, Sulawesi

Posted 22 November 2009 - 01:42 AM

You'd want to remember to pop it up, :) but it shouldn't be an hassle if you have a preflight check list as one should and always test their strobe for firing prior to the dive as one always do.



You can also pop out the flash when you swith to Automatic mode and hold you hand infornt of the port ...

BUT: Do you have a Button to put the popup flash back in? this is essential if you shoot wideandle and want to make a sillhouette shot ... because with the pop up flash out you are limited to 1/250s as the fastest shutterspeed ... this is one feature of my housing i would not want to miss ...

does the housing have that button?

Serge

www.serge-mondial.com
www.nad-lembeh.com
http://nadlembehresort.wordpress.com
EOS 7D / Nauticam


#29 Gudge

Gudge

    Tiger Shark

  • Team Wetpixel
  • 537 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pottsville, NSW Australia

Posted 22 November 2009 - 11:30 PM

BUT: Do you have a Button to put the popup flash back in? this is essential if you shoot wideandle and want to make a sillhouette shot ... because with the pop up flash out you are limited to 1/250s as the fastest shutterspeed ... this is one feature of my housing i would not want to miss ...

does the housing have that button?

You don't need a button to push the flash back in if you want to shoot at faster than 1/250. Just go into the menu system flash control area and disable the internal flash. You will then have the full range of shutter speeds available even though the flash is raised.
Canon 7D, Nauticam NA-7D housing, 2 x Inon Z240, 1 x Inon S2000, Tokina 10-17 & 12-24, Sigma 17-70 Macro, Tokina 35 macro, Canon 60 & 100 macro, Tamron 2X & Kenko 1.X Teleconverters.

#30 serge

serge

    Sting Ray

  • Industry
  • PipPipPip
  • 208 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:NAD Lembeh, Sulawesi

Posted 23 November 2009 - 12:35 AM

Ah yes. Just found it ... thank you!

www.serge-mondial.com
www.nad-lembeh.com
http://nadlembehresort.wordpress.com
EOS 7D / Nauticam


#31 Viz'art

Viz'art

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 25 November 2009 - 07:47 AM

Jean, my original understanding (which I now think was mistaken), was that the optic fibre bulkhead was an exra one apart from the two standard Nikonos ones. Now I gather that I can only have one Nikonos and one optic fibre? Or can it use the one for the remote control or something?

I do like the idea of having access to both to use with my Inon strobes, particularly having TTL for shooting macro. Think this would be the way to go then?

And if ordering optic fibre bulkheads, do you have to specify whether it's for Inon or Sea and Sea?

I took my 7D for a dive today too, she's an impressive machine!

Ryan.


Hi Ryan, missed that one earlier on, let make light of this!

The optical connector comes with a Sea & Sea adapter (which has an elbow type connector) and a INON type adapter (which can connect two optical fiber to it), so if you want to run dual Inon strobes, then a single optical connector can be used, if you want to run dual Sea & Sea with their original elbow type connector you will need two optical connector.

in your case you could have a optical on one side that would accept both your INON and a electrical Nikonos type on the other side with either a splitter from Sea & Sea for using two individual cords or use a Y double cord for hard wiring the INON. and yes if you wanted to you could run another electrical connector from the rear left accessory bukhead mounting hole, but you would have to custom make your wiring for it, I think the splitter or dual cord as a back up make more senses than jerry rig a second bulkhead in the back.

Cheers
Jean Bruneau / Aquatica Technical Advisor

www.vizart.ca

www.aquatica.ca

Aquatica Pro Digital housings for D-300s, AF 10-20mm, AF 10-17mm, AF 14MM, AF 17-35mm, af 17-70mm, AF 20MM, AF 60MM, AF 105MM, 2x Ikelite Ds 160, and TLC arms exclusively

#32 Stewart L. Sy

Stewart L. Sy

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, BC

Posted 26 November 2009 - 03:43 PM

Hey Jean,

Is the leak detector included like in the 5dmk2 housing? How much to fit the hydrophone?

I'm on the waitlist! ;)

Stu

www.stewartsy.com
SLS Photography, when your images matter....
Aquatica, Amphibico, TLC, ULCS (Philippines), Stix, iTorch, FIT, Magic Filter Dealer
Philippine Dive Trip Specialist


#33 joetsm

joetsm

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 26 November 2009 - 07:37 PM

Hi Jean

Form your photos, seems the new 7D housing is without window on top showing the camera setting, or it's just only a proto type and will have the setting display window on bulk?

Thx!

Joe

Edited by joetsm, 26 November 2009 - 07:38 PM.


#34 Viz'art

Viz'art

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 27 November 2009 - 05:57 AM

The moisture alarm is not included but can be added and if ordered at the same time, can be factory installed, same goes for the hydrophone (this I will PM you the retail price)

Joe, The top LCD shows nothing that the rear LCD won't show better, brighter & bigger, that is one of the reason to bypass it, I realise that top side, it is the way to get your info, but typically these small LCD when recessed in a housing are not as hot as they where on the surface, beside it did help to keep cost down by not having to machine an extra opening in the shell and extra acrylic port.
Jean Bruneau / Aquatica Technical Advisor

www.vizart.ca

www.aquatica.ca

Aquatica Pro Digital housings for D-300s, AF 10-20mm, AF 10-17mm, AF 14MM, AF 17-35mm, af 17-70mm, AF 20MM, AF 60MM, AF 105MM, 2x Ikelite Ds 160, and TLC arms exclusively

#35 stever

stever

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 27 November 2009 - 10:58 AM

not being a videographer, permit me a dumb question - what would i use the hydrophone for other than whales?

#36 Stewart L. Sy

Stewart L. Sy

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 916 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Richmond, BC

Posted 27 November 2009 - 11:19 AM

The reef has lots of sounds, clicks, burbles, grunts etc. Might be a nice background white noise to add with some music, may or may not use it, but nice to have the option no?

not being a videographer, permit me a dumb question - what would i use the hydrophone for other than whales?


www.stewartsy.com
SLS Photography, when your images matter....
Aquatica, Amphibico, TLC, ULCS (Philippines), Stix, iTorch, FIT, Magic Filter Dealer
Philippine Dive Trip Specialist


#37 joetsm

joetsm

    Sea Nettle

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Posted 27 November 2009 - 06:02 PM

Joe, The top LCD shows nothing that the rear LCD won't show better, brighter & bigger, that is one of the reason to bypass it, I realise that top side, it is the way to get your info, but typically these small LCD when recessed in a housing are not as hot as they where on the surface, beside it did help to keep cost down by not having to machine an extra opening in the shell and extra acrylic port.

Dear Jean

Thanks for your reply, I have be used to view the camera setting from top of housing for years, nowaday I have to change my preference, whatever, I'm looking foward to collect the new 7D housing from Aquatica.

Thanks!

Joe

#38 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 3044 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, Arizona
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 27 November 2009 - 07:56 PM

You won't have any problem getting used to it Joe. The 7D info screen is so much easier to see. I can safely say I've never once used the small top screen on my 40D housing. I think it was a good call by Aquatica, one less place to leak.

Cheers,
Steve

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr

Canon7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom


#39 betti154

betti154

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sydney, Australia

Posted 30 November 2009 - 11:17 PM

I can second the omission of the LCD window. I've next used in on the 40/50D setup in over 2 years. The rear screen in info mode is all you need.
Damien Siviero
Canon 5DmkIII + 7D. Aquatica Housing. Ikelite + Inon Strobes. Canon + Tokina Glass.
http://damiensiviero.com

#40 Viz'art

Viz'art

    Orca

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1496 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Montreal, Qc, Canada

Posted 07 December 2009 - 12:53 PM

Ahh the fresh scent of lubricant, the musical melody of aluminum blocks being gutted, the visual ballet of a 5 axis machined, good gawd I love my job, :wacko:

Here is a small update on the 7D progress, no matter how often I walk in front of the machine, I still stop and stare, geez, it better than most soap on TV LOL!

First shot is the raw block, second is being process the last is the rack with partially machined fronts and rear. Things are really shaping up!

Attached Images

  • Lingot.jpg
  • image0017.jpg
  • rack.jpg

Jean Bruneau / Aquatica Technical Advisor

www.vizart.ca

www.aquatica.ca

Aquatica Pro Digital housings for D-300s, AF 10-20mm, AF 10-17mm, AF 14MM, AF 17-35mm, af 17-70mm, AF 20MM, AF 60MM, AF 105MM, 2x Ikelite Ds 160, and TLC arms exclusively