• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 michaelbialecki

michaelbialecki

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 10:54 AM

Hello everybody....I am new to this forum....I am a photographer and somebody (ellen) over at rangefinderforum recommended me to this site....I just spent some time reading some threads and I have a couple of questions...

I am going to buy a Nikonos V and some lenses (15mm/20mm/35mm) and a fb 105 strobe....I am not a diver, but I like to snorkel....I read in a couple of the posts that it is not ok to snorkel (free dive) with a 15mm on Nikonos because there is not adequate pressure, and their is a high chance of "flooding"......

I plan to learn how to use my new kit in my swimming pool....what risks (do's and dont's) should I be aware of....

I absolutely have no experience whatsoever with UW photography, but it is something that I would like to try out....can somebody please give me a basic rundown on what I should/shouldn't do...

Any advice would be appreciated....BTW, I am not a troll ....I have been taking photos for 20 years, but this will be my first time using/experimenting with UW photography....I have read some info on Bob Warkentin's website (southern-nikonos) and it is helpful...

anyways, here is a link to some of my work that I do

http://www.flickr.co...s/22072877@N05/

Thanks in advance to any advice....I am excited to venture into this type of photography......not really sure if it matters or not, but I live in Thailand now and I plan on using the camera around some of the islands here...and also in my swimming pool...

cheers, michael

#2 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 18 December 2009 - 11:22 AM

I had a NikV and 15mm lens and used it in a cuttlefish tank once (it was a big tank I could swim in) I would look into getting a very strong "rubber band" to use to hold the lens on the camera body for shallow water use.

Cheers
James

PS: fantastic photostream!