• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JohnnyQuest

JohnnyQuest

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 36 posts

Posted 30 December 2009 - 06:02 PM

Would anyone be willing to PM me their address and let me mail them a copy of my latest DVD (Komodo on the Dancer)? Give me your business address if you don't want to give me your home address (I'm a--I'm a 51 year old engineer living in Hershey, PA.)

My DVD is 38 minutes long, shot in HD but burned in SD. All the footage was shot during one 2-week trip by me with my one camera/housing (just like my other 10 DVDs). I use a color correction filter pretty much all the time >15' and adjust colors via software in my Avid Liquid system. I'm very happy with the final colors that I get and don't want to have to routinely use an external light source (full well knowing that my results would improve.)

I've been shooting with an USVH system for about 8 years. My current camera is a Sony HDR-HC1. I'm thinking of upgrading to a higher level housing (probably the Bluefin Pro after the bugs I've read about here are worked out.) What I'm looking for is someone who is very experienced and very good to objectively view my latest DVD and tell me if you think I could get better quality video with a better housing/lens. I'm pretty satisfied with the quality I get, but I've lost my my mojo with video (after sending and obscene amount of time on this last DVD) and figure I need to do one of the following:

1. Get a new housing to get better quality video (via more control and better glass).
2. Give up video and switch to stills for a totally new stress/frustration experience.
3. Get a combination lobotomy/castration and be very happy for the rest of my life.

I realize that option 3 would be FAR less expensive and FAR more likely to make me happy, but, despite it being the logical choice, I'm not quite ready to go there.