Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Editing Canon 7D mov files


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 25 January 2010 - 06:37 AM

cough cough...

I hate to brag but my two year old overclocked Q6600 PC running XP can play the raw 1920/1080 25p mov files on the EDIUS 5 timeline from my new Canon 7D in realtime.... :island:
No raid drives just single sata drives.

I read all kind of things folks have to do to be able to edit them on other setups.

To get much better performance though I just have to right click on the file in the bin and convert to the Canopus HQ codec and away I go.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#2 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 25 January 2010 - 11:01 AM

Hi Wagsy,

Install EDIUS Neo 2 BOOSTER and you will get far better performance.
At least I get it with my MKII files.
The new booster functionality will come to the big EDIUS 6.
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#3 Drew

Drew

    The Controller

  • Video Expert
  • 10632 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS is not reliable in South East Asian seas

Posted 25 January 2010 - 04:25 PM

Wags, are you saying that you can edit with filters, layers, color correct and composites in realtime without rendering? That's amazing.

Drew
Moderator
"Journalism is what someone else does not want printed, everything else is public relations."

"I was born not knowing, and have only had a little time to change that here and there.


#4 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 25 January 2010 - 07:05 PM

Have not tried Neo with the new booster, have to uninstall EDIUS 5 to try it out but would be interesting to see if it cuts the movs up better.
Yes I heard that too about EDIUS 6
What can you do with your 5D clips in realtime with Neo?

Drew, I can scrub the timeline no problems and have a single mov clip playing back realtime.
I can add colour correction and have a sound tack but that's about that.
Fine for straight cuts...but anything more and would have to convert to an easier codec.

I been messing around with it on my Blackbird steadycam, it flies pretty good and indoors the camera really shines, just crank up your ISO.
Need a wider lens though, looks like the Tokina 11-16mm is the one to get.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#5 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 25 January 2010 - 10:34 PM

Well, I did a quick test on my core2duo system which cannot playback one single file on tthe timeline witth neo 2.
With Booster I was able to work with at least 4 realtime lines and added colour correction and other filters.
Give it a try...

EDIUS rocks!
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#6 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 25 January 2010 - 11:08 PM

Gee.... so you are saying you can get 4 tracks of raw Canon 5D mov files playing back in realtime on the timeline?

Gee might have to uninstall EDIUS 5 and try the Neo-Booster....you would think they would add it to EDIUS 5......

I guess they want to make a buck from it so make us all buy version 6 lol.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au

#7 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 26 January 2010 - 02:08 AM

Jep!
They even charge for the update from Neo 2 to Booster (which is V2.5).
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#8 mexwell

mexwell

    Sting Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 200 posts
  • Location:Haan (Duesseldorf) - Germany

Posted 27 January 2010 - 01:32 PM

Hmm, I have to rephrase my inital post a bit.

I just received the boxed upgrade and installed Neo 2.5 on my machine which is Vista x64.
My previous test was with the trial on a clean Win 7 x64 installation on the same computer.
At Win 7 I experienced a much better performance then I do now on the Vista system.

I need to dig deeper in this.... :island:
Best regards

Christian


Photo& Video: Canon 5D MkII - Ikelite housing - Ikelite DS-125 - Ikelite DS-50
Glas Canon 50mm Macro - Canon 100mm Macro - Canon 17-40mm
Video only: Sony HC7 - Topdawg II Housing and Light System - Gorillapod UW-Tripod
My Website with Pictures and HD movies Last update 01-2010

#9 wagsy

wagsy

    Blue Whale

  • Senior Moderator
  • 3845 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cairns, Queensland.
  • Interests:Sewing and Knitting......no diving of course :-)

Posted 28 January 2010 - 11:37 PM

Well maybe you had better just stick to Win 7.
I'll upgrade my XP system to it soon I think.
Amphibico Phenom & EVO PRO & Navigator 900
Share Your Underwater Videos www.hdvunderwater.com | www.flykam.com.au | www.reeftorainforest.com.au