4 replies to this topic

#1 chris_l

chris_l

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 125 posts

Posted 14 March 2010 - 08:16 AM

Hi,
I've been doing underwater photography since 2002 but always with a smaller point & shoot. First I had an olympus C4000 in the pt-010. I currently have a Fuji F30 in the fuji housing with an Inon D2000 strobe. The fuji is sometimes frustrating because it does not have full manual controls.
My ideal setup would be the canon S90 if it had HD video, but it doesn't.
I've gotten to the point where I'm having more fun taking videos underwater than photos, so I'm considering a dedicated video setup.

So now to my questions.
I see that canon is offering the WP-V1 case for the HF20 & HF200. I do not plan on using video lights. Can you do manual white balance with this setup?
I've seen reference to an underwater mode on these cameras? Has anyone used this and how good is it? Does it have a sweet spot as far as depth that works well with it? Would a filter be better?
If I did decide to add a light, what is the recommendation?

I also see now there is the WP-V2 for the M31, M30 and M300. What is advantage of these cameras over the ones for the WP-V1?

A few more details about what I'm after:
I realize there are better video setups out there, but I'm trying not to break the bank. The price point for the canon is acceptable, but at the upper end of what I want to spend.
I usually dive once a year on a live aboard. I will be going to the Galapagos in May, so if I get a video system I need to act fast to have it for that trip.

Is there a recommended video software package? I have both PC & Mac, but I'll probably be getting a new PC laptop with i5 core.

Thanks for any and all info.

Chris

#2 Drew

Drew

The Controller

• Video Expert
  • 10635 posts

Posted 14 March 2010 - 09:34 PM

The Canon case is a very basic setup and you can't MWB AFAIK. Unfortunately there is no low cost housing with full controls.