• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 zaven62

zaven62

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 01:17 AM

I am currently shooting with a Nikon D90, Nauticam housing, twin Z240's, 10-17mm Tokina with a 8" Nauticam acrylic dome port. In the background of these shots ( please excuse the quality, only fourth time out with this rig) there is a strange "arch"
Any ideas what is causing it?

Cheers Zaven

Attached Images

• DSC_0039.jpg
  • DSC_0037.jpg
  • DSC_0023.jpg

Nikon D90, Nauticam Housing, 2 X INON Z240 Type 4, ULCS Arms, Nikon 60mm, Tokina 10-17mm.

#2 MATT S

MATT S

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 219 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 02:13 AM

hey mate I am no expert but I think it is something reflecting inside the dome. I am sure that I red something about the hood on the 10-17 can reflect the sun.

Could be wrong
www.aquaseen.com

#3 ChrigelKarrer

ChrigelKarrer

Tiger Shark

• PipPipPipPip
  • 632 posts

Posted 10 May 2010 - 05:16 AM

It's the front of your lens reflecting on the inside of the dome.
On my D90 Ikelite housing i made a neoprene sock to be pulled over the tube between the housing ad the dome.
Using this "shade" there are no reflections anymore tru the transpaprent extension tube of the ikelite domes.
You may paint with a sharpie or similare the front of your lens/filter black if there are some cromed/white spots or writings on it.
Not on the lens itself indeed!

Chris

Nikon D800 - Sigma 15mm - Nikon 105mm Micro VR - Hugyfot Housing - 3 Inon Z-240 strobes - 2x2 8'' ULCS arms

Canon G12 with Patima aluminium housing - Fuji E900 with Ikelite housing
Visit My Costa Rica Website - Visit My Italy Website

#4 tdpriest

tdpriest

Sperm Whale

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2122 posts
  • Interests:Diving medicine, warm water, scenery...

Posted 14 May 2010 - 05:25 AM