Photo
- - - - -

Problem with the strobe/sand etc. how shall i try this the next time?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 divetheworld

divetheworld

Damselfish

• Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:14 AM

hello!

i have a problem with this picture. i am using a nikon d90 in the nauticam housing with one inon z240 strobe. the pictures was taken on the housereef. i'm new to photography and was wondering if you guys may tell me, how to take a nicer picture from this nice ribbon eel, as i can go there at anytime. my problem is the sandy surrounding, which makes everything look overexposured. on the backside of he eel is a coral block as well. and to make it worse, on the housereef is poor visibility with lot of floating stuff.

taken with iso 200 and f14 with 60/s. shall i take a fast shutterspeed to get the background darker? please help

Posted Image

thanks in advance.

Edited by divetheworld, 04 June 2010 - 12:16 AM.

#2 DDT uk

DDT uk

Wolf Eel

• PipPip
  • 135 posts

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:47 AM

I am no expert on here but these are my thoughts anyway.

The first thing that I would do is get closer. The more than the main subject occupies the frame the less the sand will appear to intrude. The eel is what you are trying to show and is the point of interest. The sand is not particular interesting and so you can get rid of as much as possible.

The flash fires very quickly and this is want is lighting most of the frame. Therefore the shutter speed won't have a great deal of difference on this composition. It is possible to use a snoot to only light the subject but as you are new to this I would stick with the basics.

You should also remember that if you shoot upwards then you can also remove the seabed.

So, if I were you I would get as close and as low as possible when retaking the shot.

I hope that helps

Daniel

#3 ckchong

ckchong

Sting Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 206 posts

Posted 04 June 2010 - 12:53 AM