Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Lightroom 3 Available for purchase


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 Balrog

Balrog

    Eagle Ray

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole UK

Posted 17 July 2010 - 11:30 AM

Wouldn't be without it but I'm finding LR3 a bit buggy on windows particularly in the library module.

Anyone else getting issues.

#22 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2985 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, Arizona
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 17 July 2010 - 11:58 AM

I'm running Windows 7 and haven't seen a problem yet. I usually keep an eye on the Lightroom forum but for once I haven't had any issues.

Steve

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr

Canon7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom


#23 adamhanlon

adamhanlon

    Harbor Seal

  • Admin
  • 1705 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Lancaster, UK

Posted 17 July 2010 - 12:42 PM

Just to echo Steve-

Windows 7 64 bit-no problem at all.

Faster than v2 and I really like all the new features.

Adam

Adam Hanlon-underwater photographer and videographer
Editor-wetpixel
web | Flickr | twitter | Linkedin | Facebook


#24 ChrigelKarrer

ChrigelKarrer

    Tiger Shark

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 612 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Playa Herradura-Costa Rica and Sardinia-Italy

Posted 17 July 2010 - 02:31 PM

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit Edition on a Lenovo T61 notebook.
No problems at all and also like the new funtions, especially the noise reduction

Chris

Nikon D800 - Sigma 15mm - Nikon 105mm Micro VR - Hugyfot Housing - 3 Inon Z-240 strobes - 2x2 8'' ULCS arms

Canon G12 with Patima aluminium housing - Fuji E900 with Ikelite housing
Visit My Costa Rica Website - Visit My Italy Website


#25 blueline

blueline

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pinellas county FL
  • Interests:Scuba/Underwater photography

Posted 22 July 2010 - 06:57 AM

Wouldn't be without it but I'm finding LR3 a bit buggy on windows particularly in the library module.

Anyone else getting issues.


Not sure if this is the right place to post this question but it is related to Lightroom.

Does anyone know of any technique (or point me to links) on how to remove large quantities of backscatter in Lightroom, in a similar way to Photoshop CS#? I believe there's a technique in Photoshop where you can darken the background and paint/eliminate backscatter(there's a video about it in YouTube). Given Photoshop is too pricey, I'd rather switch to Lightroom ( I have used Picasa for a while but I cannot figure out how to remove backscatter in an easier way, other than one bubble at a time).

I usually try to shoot with a red filter for wide angle and works well, but need something to fix pictures taken in "deeper water" with strobe light.


Thanks in advance,

Dimitri
Will dive for Molluscs.

Sea & Sea MDX-40D, Canon 60mm, Kenko 1.4x TC, 28-135mm(topside), Sigma 18-50mm, Tokina 11-16mm, ULCS, Inon D-2000W, Fix 500DX light.

#26 JackConnick

JackConnick

    Great White

  • Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1199 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Seattle, WA
  • Interests:Sailing, diving, women, cats

Posted 22 July 2010 - 09:10 AM

Under Filters:Noise:Dust & Scratches you can apply a filter that will help. But it works as a blur really. What I have done is to develop a mask or two and then apply it and re-sharpen.

Jack
Jack Connick
Optical Ocean Sales.com Sea & Sea, Olympus, Ikelite, Athena, Zen, Fix, Nauticam, Aquatica, Gates, 10Bar, Light & Motion, iTorch/I-DAS & Fantasea Line -
Cameras, Housings, Strobes, Arms, Trays & Accessories

Blog & Gallery: Optical Ocean: Above & Below
Flickr Gallerys: Optical Ocean on Flickr

#27 blueline

blueline

    Moray Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 98 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pinellas county FL
  • Interests:Scuba/Underwater photography

Posted 22 July 2010 - 11:29 AM

Under Filters:Noise:Dust & Scratches you can apply a filter that will help. But it works as a blur really. What I have done is to develop a mask or two and then apply it and re-sharpen.

Jack


I tried that out in ImageReady CS3 (an older version i still have) but gave up after a while. Probably doesn't have the same features as photoshop. Tried step by step per the YouTube video I found. I'll get Lightroom and see what I can do..

Thanks.
Will dive for Molluscs.

Sea & Sea MDX-40D, Canon 60mm, Kenko 1.4x TC, 28-135mm(topside), Sigma 18-50mm, Tokina 11-16mm, ULCS, Inon D-2000W, Fix 500DX light.

#28 echeng

echeng

    The Blue

  • Admin
  • 5842 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Francisco, CA
  • Interests:photography, ice cream, cello, chamber music, quadcopters

Posted 23 July 2010 - 12:25 PM

DPReview has completed their review of Lightroom 3:
http://www.dpreview....dobelightroom3/
eric cheng
publisher/editor, wetpixel
www | journal | photos


#29 rumblefish

rumblefish

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Underwater photography and wreckdiving. Contributing editor to dive magazines in The Netherlands and Belgium.

Posted 04 August 2010 - 05:10 AM

I upgraded from LR2.6 to LR3, very easy indeed Steve. I really like the lens correction tool. It's great for correcting the barrel distortion that comes with the Tokina 10-17FE. I like the noise reduction, too.
There is one thing I would like your comments on: it does seem to be far slower than LR2. The spot removal tool is becoming a pain to use. I'm on a 27.5 inch iMac (3.06 GHz). Anyone had a similar issue? Could it have something to do with the fact that upon importing my existing LR2 catalogs into LR3, it makes copies. Should I toss away the LR2 catalogs now?
--Rob

Edited by rumblefish, 04 August 2010 - 05:40 AM.

Nikon D600, Nikon D80, Tokina 10-17mm FE, Sigma 14mm, 24mm macro, Nikon 60mm macro, Sigma 180mm macro. Nauticam NA-D600, 45° viewfinder, Subal ND80, GS180 viewfinder. Sea&Sea YS350 and YS90. ULCS arms.


#30 Steve Williams

Steve Williams

    Humpback Whale

  • Moderator
  • 2985 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tucson, Arizona
  • Interests:Protecting our Ocean, Environmental Education,
    Having fun and Living Well

Posted 04 August 2010 - 06:27 AM

There is one thing I would like your comments on: it does seem to be far slower than LR2.


Hi Rob,
A quick check on the Adobe forums shows some folks having speed issues with new Mac machines;
http://forums.adobe....message/3007873

I don't have any issues with my desk top PC but I noticed that my old laptop that I used on the boat last week was slower than 2.7, I'm guessing that it's the usual .0 software version issues. I found that if I optimised my catalog it helped speed things along. I think I'd do a little more research before I deleted the 2.x catalogs. I'm running one catalog so all my images were translated to a 3.0 catalog when I loaded up the new version.

Cheers,
Steve

The Fin Foundation
My Images on Flikr

Canon7D & 40D, 60mm, 100mm, 17-40L, Tokina 10-17, Nauticam 7D, Sea & Sea MDX-40D YS-250's ULCS arms, Lightroom


#31 rumblefish

rumblefish

    Wolf Eel

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 134 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Interests:Underwater photography and wreckdiving. Contributing editor to dive magazines in The Netherlands and Belgium.

Posted 04 August 2010 - 09:41 AM

hmm, I'm not sure if I find this thread reassuring. But thank you anyway Steve.
I trust you had a good trip?

I think I will give LR3 some time to see how it behaves with photos I import directly into this version, instead of working with the ones I already had in LR2. I did optimize the catalogs.

Best regards,
--Rob

Nikon D600, Nikon D80, Tokina 10-17mm FE, Sigma 14mm, 24mm macro, Nikon 60mm macro, Sigma 180mm macro. Nauticam NA-D600, 45° viewfinder, Subal ND80, GS180 viewfinder. Sea&Sea YS350 and YS90. ULCS arms.


#32 james

james

    The Engineer

  • Super Mod
  • 9968 posts
  • Location:Houston TX

Posted 04 August 2010 - 11:07 AM

I did the upgrade from 2.4 to 3.0 (Windows 7) last night and it had no trouble converting my catalog (thank goodness). I sure hope this version is faster at generating 1:1 previews!

Cheers
James
Canon 1DsMkIII - Seacam Housing
Dual Ikelite Strobes
Photo site - www.reefpix.org