• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 CamDiver

CamDiver

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1103 posts
  • Interests:Filming and documentary production. Beach and surf photography. Family time, isolated beaches and walking the dog.

Posted 23 July 2010 - 03:47 AM

Went out today, intentionally in the dumpers, in fact that's all there was today at Balangan in Bali. Biggest wave I 'met' was about shoulder height. Enough to get a true trouncing. More than anything I wanted to use a small wave day to judge where I should and shouldn't be in a wave, couple of rashes for my efforts, not the last I'm sure. So yeah, dunked the camera too, testing the housing and more just a cursory excursion to see how it all fits together. The photography was not the aim today, just shaking everything out as a complete newbie. I didn't have the heart to tell the few surfers out there who were chatting about mailing any decent images etc that if I even got something in focus I'd be happy!!

Was happy with the fact that I kept the port droplet free and that I didn't get into too much strife. Serious kudos to the guys that do this in the big surf for a living. I was in very small learners surf and I could feel the power just in that. All good stuff.

Anyway, below are the first efforts:
Cheers,
Mark.

The Sharks of the Forgotten Islands

- A Natural History Documentary -

#2 MikeVeitch

MikeVeitch

1.7kbps Manta Boy

• Senior Moderator
  • 6180 posts
  • Interests:Teaching Underwater Photography

Posted 23 July 2010 - 04:42 AM

great first effort mark, that second one looks like it might have hurt :P

How did you find using the trigger on the handle? seems a bit of an awkward location?

Join us for an Underwater Photography Workshop in Ambon March 2015
Blog and Photo Archive/Portfolio Site www.mikeveitchblog.com
Learn underwater photography in Indonesia or Join me on a trip www.underwatertribe.com

#3 CamDiver

CamDiver

Great White

• Industry
  • PipPipPipPip