10 replies to this topic

#1 divergal42

divergal42

Starfish

• Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Interests:photography, u/w & wildlife, botanical macros, hiking,

Posted 30 July 2010 - 03:30 PM

Hi All, I'm a Southern California retired professional diver with 5000+ dives, ex-instructor, writer & photographer just starting to take u/w photos again. I'm using a Nikon D60 in a Sea & Sea RDX housing with Nikkor 60 mm micro lens and flat port, plus Nikkor 10-24 wide angle zoom and dome port, twin Sea & Sea YS-110's. I've used it underwater about 25 hours, but it still takes me awhile to put the rig together, etc. On my most recent diving day I discovered, in the water at depth that the camera wouldn't fire because I'd left the lens cap on! I'm shooting manually, having some OK results even in poor vis, but looking forward to spending lots more time in the water. I'm finding the learning curve from manual film shooting to manual digital shooting to be longer than I'd hoped, and I'm not even at the editing stage yet. I'm looking for ways to see better, so I'm hoping for information on viewfinders I might be able to use on the Sea & Sea RDX housing; have a trip to Socorro planned and want to maximize the gear I'm using right now without bearing the expense burden of upgrading yet. I haven't gotten good enough to challenge this equipment - this photographer needs to get better before she gets a better camera.

#2 photovan

photovan

Great White

• 979 posts

Posted 30 July 2010 - 08:49 PM

Welcome! Your experience will be welcome here, you can be assured of that – and so will your questions.

... and I wonder how many other WDHOF members we have visiting us here?

Darren Jew  |  Australia  |  darrenjew.com  |  fotofrenzy.com.au

Canon EOS1Dx   |   EOSM   |   Nauticam  |   Inon Z240

#3 james

james

The Engineer

• Super Mod
  • 9969 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 07:56 AM

Wow that's awesome news - and great sleuthing Darren!