• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Fleabag

Fleabag

Sea Wasp

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 31 July 2010 - 12:23 PM

After some fun with a cheap film camera with underwater housing, I decided to "take the plunge" into the realms of digital underwater photography. I'm a Fine Art/Photo graduate, so have some serious dry land equipment, but finances (and fear of dunking expensive equipment) led me to the cheaper end of the market to have a bit of fun and aim at some good action shots, even if the resolution wasn't particularly high (i'm a purist anyway and have only succumbed to digital over the superior quality of film because of convenience and cost).

I originally opted for the first version of the yellow Vivitar 5mp Rugged camera, which looked like it could cope with a bit of rough & tumble and the decent size/weight & bright colour seemed an advantage when messing about in the waves (if dropped it would likely be retrievable).

This camera and I started out getting along famously. The images were pretty good quality. Film was basic, but perfectly acceptable for its fun value, though film above water tended to bleach out. It had reasonable sound. The unit was very rugged and I felt confident about its waterproofing.