Photo
- - - - -

Inon UCL-165 vs. UCL-330 Macro close lens.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 barttrigger

barttrigger

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 32 posts
  • Interests:Scuba diving, photography, rov,

Posted 05 September 2010 - 07:38 PM

Hi all,

I'm itching to get a macro/closeup lens & have been thinking about those 2 mentioned above. As a newbie, I'm not sure which is more practical to get. The 330mm or 165mm wet lens? Does the 330mm means that I could stay further away from the subject? Anybody care to comment on the quality of these lenses? Could you enlighten me on the pros & cons of both lenses? Thanks in advance & hope to hear from some of you soon.

Cheers,
Bart.

#2 jlyle

jlyle

Manta Ray

• PipPipPip
  • 415 posts

Posted 06 September 2010 - 05:48 AM

Hi all,

I'm itching to get a macro/closeup lens & have been thinking about those 2 mentioned above. As a newbie, I'm not sure which is more practical to get. The 330mm or 165mm wet lens? Does the 330mm means that I could stay further away from the subject? Anybody care to comment on the quality of these lenses? Could you enlighten me on the pros & cons of both lenses? Thanks in advance & hope to hear from some of you soon.

Cheers,
Bart.

The 330 is useless; it doesn't give you any more than you can get with the camera set on supermacro. You want the 165 and you want to buy two of them so you can stack them for really ultra macro. The stacked 165s are tricky to use - move the camera towards the subject until it begins to clear in the viewfinder/monitor, then half press for AF and take the shot. Take lots of shots; DOF is razor thin and only a few images will be what you want.

Oly 5050 with stacked 165s:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Edited by jlyle, 06 September 2010 - 05:50 AM.

Olmpus OM-D EM-5 in a Nauticam housing with dual Sea and Sea YS D1 strobes
8mm, 12-50mm, 45mm lenses
My web page.

#3 Timmoranuk

Timmoranuk

Great White

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1169 posts