12 replies to this topic

#1 Michael T.

Michael T.

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 February 2011 - 06:22 AM

Hi,

i'm thinking of buying either Photoshop Elements 9(+) or CS5. I own Lightroom already but i think i need one of the 2... As a Student i could get both for a very good price (the PSE is ca 60EU and CS5 will be at 230EU). But i'm not sure if the "large" Photoshop CS5 is really what i need... What would you recommend? Has PSE(+) enough power to process photos? Or should i go for the full version?

Cheers

Michael

#2 SimonSpear

SimonSpear

Orca

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1389 posts

Posted 01 February 2011 - 10:22 AM

I think you are in the wrong forum here Michael as this is the video section. Perhaps someone can move you to somewhere more appropriate where people know about Photoshop? :P

#3 Michael T.

Michael T.

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 01 February 2011 - 10:42 AM

ups,

seems to be in the right Forum now - thanks for moving...

#4 bvanant

bvanant

Orca

• Team Wetpixel
  • 1499 posts
  • Interests:Science, photography, travel

Posted 04 February 2011 - 05:44 PM

Hi,

i'm thinking of buying either Photoshop Elements 9(+) or CS5. I own Lightroom already but i think i need one of the 2... As a Student i could get both for a very good price (the PSE is ca 60EU and CS5 will be at 230EU). But i'm not sure if the "large" Photoshop CS5 is really what i need... What would you recommend? Has PSE(+) enough power to process photos? Or should i go for the full version?

Cheers

Michael

What do you think you want to do that Lightroom doesn't do? Unless you are going to be making illustration type art rather than straight forward photos I think LR is more than sufficient.
Bill

Bill
Canon 7d, Nauticam, Lots of glass, Olympus OMD-EM5, Nauticam, 60 macro, 45 macro, 8 mm fisheye, Inon, S&S, Athena Strobes plus lots of fiddly bits.
www.blueviews.net

#5 Michael T.

Michael T.

Triggerfish

• Pip
  • 32 posts

Posted 05 February 2011 - 01:44 AM